Fast Five Friday | Thieves, Spies, and Espionage

fast five friday

I love blogging and writing and recommending books… but I know that I tend to get a little long-winded in my blog posts! FAST FIVE FRIDAY is a means for me to recognize some favorite books and round them up for recommendations without talking your ear off. 

FAST FIVE FRIDAY | THIEVES, SPIES, AND ESPIONAGE

I recently read the first two books in Maggie Hall’s Conspiracy of Us series and I am all wrapped up in espionage, political thrillers, and thievery. CONSPIRACY OF US and MAP OF FATES are more international thrillers than espionage but they do have kind of the same “secret” feel (secret society, secret agents… they’re along the same line, right?) and I just can’t get enough! I have a bunch on my TBR for the upcoming months and some great-sounding titles for 2017! Today I’m recommending five of my favorites if you’re in the mood for cons, heists, and spies!

Heist SocietyAlso Known As - Robin BenwayThe Lies of Locke Lamorasix of crows

What: Heist Society (Book one of the Heist Society series)
Who: Ally Carter
Why: Ally Carter is kind of the queen of YA heists and espionage. HEIST SOCIETY is my first series from her but her books are so much fun! Think Ocean’s 11 meets TV’s Leverage. 
Where: Goodreads | Review

What: Also Known As (Book one in the Also Known As duology)
Who: Robin Benway
Why: These books were my first from Robin Benway and they’re amazing read-alikes for HEIST SOCIETY! A little less con, a little more spy.
Where: Goodreads | Review

What: The Lies of Locke Lamora (Book one in the Gentleman Bastard series)
Who: Scott Lynch
Why: Fantasy cons! Thievery! Debauchery! Swearing! Bromances! Scott Lynch’s books are the best. They’re a riot and if you’re ready for some amazingly fun and also complex adult fantasy, this is the series for you.
Where: Goodreads | Review

What: Six of Crows (Book one in The Dregs duology)
Who: Leigh Bardugo
Why: Bardugo is queen and things get a little heistier in this Grisha companion series. (Spellcheck thinks heistier is a word. Cool.) Check out the dregs of society but heroes of our hearts pulling off their biggest con yet in SIX OF CROWS!
Where: Goodreads | Review

What: Scarlet (Book one in the Scarlet trilogy)
Who: A.C. Gaughen
Why: Gender flipped Robin Hood retelling! Well, Robin is still male but Will Scarlet (Scarlet) is female. The darker side of the Robin Hood tales, a terrible villain, and Scarlet making a name for herself and standing up for her crew.
Where: Goodreads | Review


That’s my fast five for today! What are your favorite books featuring thievery, spies, and general espionage? How about political thrillers? International affairs? What books are you looking forward to in 2016/2017?

7 thoughts on “Fast Five Friday | Thieves, Spies, and Espionage

  1. Cassi @ My Thoughts Literally

    I love books about heists and thieves! I still need to read Also Known as and Heist society. I love Ally Carter and yet I still haven’t read that series. I did love Six of Crows of course and the Scarlet trilogy. Sadly I didn’t love Locke Lamora. I had such high hopes too so I’m not sure it was the hype or just that I wanted more in terms of the heist or con.

  2. Tessa

    Ever since I have read Six of Crows, I have been dying to read more great YA espionage and thief novels. I read Also Known As a while ago, but it did not know that the second book came out! I will have to pick it up soon, as well as Heist Society and Conspiracy of Us.

  3. Emily Anne

    I LOVE spy books. Ally Carter was definitely the starter of this addiction for me! Also I’m FINALLY reading Six Of Crows… and I have never really heard of Locke Lamora. I’ll need to check it out! Awesome variety of spy books 🙂

    Emily @ Reader Rising

  4. Karen C

    Really happy I came across your site! This is a great idea for a blog post and I am always looking for a new thriller (especially with some espionage!!). You have to check out “Not Black and White” by new author G.A. Beller. I love anything that involves scandal and this book definitely delivered. I really got invested in the characters and the author did a wonderful job of humanizing them and really getting to the root of their motivations…and seeing the fallout of some of the decisions made throughout the book really had me on the edge of my seat. I love any stories that stick with me after I finish and this one will stay with me forever. It really makes you think about how our political system works and exactly how much of it is “on the level”. Check this one out this summer: http://www.gabeller.com
    I would love to hear what you think about it! Thanks again

  5. Carrie

    I haven’t read The Lies of Locke Lamora, but you make it super sound interesting. Fantasy cons! I’m so in. This is the only one of the 5 I haven’t read too. I guess that means it is in good company and I really need to get this book ASAP.

Comments are closed.