Archives

Blog Tour: A Week of Mondays by Jessica Brody | Review

AWOM_blogtour

Welcome to the blog tour for
A WEEK OF MONDAYS by Jessica Brody!

I am so excited to be on the blog tour for this book and spread the word about A WEEK OF MONDAYS! This is actually the first contemporary book I’ve read from Jessica Brody (after having read her entire Unremembered sci-fi trilogy) and it was so much fun to read! Thanks to Macmillan Kids & Fierce Reads for having me be a part of this blog tour!!

On today’s blog tour stop, I’m sharing my review for A WEEK OF MONDAYS! Check out what I thought of the book:

Blog Tour: A Week of Mondays by Jessica Brody | ReviewTitle: A Week of Mondays by Jessica Brody
Publishing Info: August 2, 2016 by Macmillan
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Alternate Reality
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // GoodreadsDate Completed: July 30, 2016
Related Posts: Unremembered (Unremembered #1), Unforgotten (Unremembered #2)

Sixteen-year-old Ellison Sparks is having a serious case of the Mondays. She gets a ticket for running a red light, she manages to take the world’s worst school picture, she bombs softball try-outs and her class election speech (note to self: never trust a cheerleader when she swears there are no nuts in her bake-sale banana bread), and to top it all off, Tristan, her gorgeous rocker boyfriend suddenly dumps her. For no good reason!
As far as Mondays go, it doesn’t get much worse than this. And Ellie is positive that if she could just do it all over again, she would get it right. So when she wakes up the next morning to find she’s reliving the exact same day, she knows what she has to do: stop her boyfriend from breaking up with her. But it seems no matter how many do-overs she gets or how hard Ellie tries to repair her relationship, Tristan always seems bent set on ending it. Will Ellie ever figure out how to fix this broken day? Or will she be stuck in this nightmare of a Monday forever?
From the author 52 Reasons to Hate My Father and The Unremembered trilogy comes a hilarious and heartwarming story about second (and third and fourth and fifth) chances. Because sometimes it takes a whole week of Mondays to figure out what you really want.

bookreview1

It’s Groundhog Daaayyy! (I hope you said that like the radio announcers in the movie…) But no, even worse… IT’S MONDAY and Ellison Sparks can’t get past the worst day of the week which incidentally is about the worst day of her life. From boy issues to mean girls to family affairs, Ellie Sparks is having a tough Monday and in A WEEK OF MONDAYS, she has to do it all over again until she gets it right.

This was my first contemporary book from Jessica Brody after having read her Unremembered series which was sci-fi so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect! Some authors have a tone that carries throughout their novels no matter what the genre is and others completely change depending on the characters they’re writing. I feel like I was able to pick out some of that humor that I’d seen in Unremembered that really had me enjoying the characters! It was a bit slapstick at times in A WEEK OF MONDAYS but if you’re going to have a Groundhog Day-type book, you gotta get some slapstick in there, right? The book definitely had a lightness to it and was a breeze to read despite its length! The way the chapters are set up make for a higher page count but don’t let that fool you — it’s actually a quick read!

I could totally identify with Ellie in so many ways. I didn’t have a lot of relationships in high school but whether it was relationship or crush, I know so many of us ended up trying to be the person we thought our crush wanted us to be and what they liked and sometimes not who we actually were. I liked that Ellie went on this journey of self-discovery in such a unique way. As wonderful as it is to have this total revelation as some characters do in books, Ellie had to go through the same situation SEVEN times in order to finally figure certain things out and I kind of loved that. We learn from our mistakes but we don’t always learn on the first try and as terrible as it was to relive the same Monday over and over again, she was lucky enough to get another chance to take a different path in her life when so many of us are left with regrets or “what if”s.

I really, really enjoyed the ending. There was a moment there that I totally called from the start (because I just really wanted it to happen) and it totally came together in the end. I really loved how everything worked out and all of the things that Ellie made right again. It wasn’t totally predictable either! I thought I knew how things would wrap up and I suppose I guessed it overall but the path to get there was different than I expected and I always love when authors are able to surprise me!

A WEEK OF MONDAYS was just a fun book from start to finish. It started off more on the silly side and slowly progressed to serious and a little deeper. I really loved Ellie’s journey and the ending to the book was just perfect! A WEEK OF MONDAYS was my favorite kind of book to read in the summertime but it’s great for any time of the year! I do love Jessica Brody and I look forward to reading more of her books!

addiction_factor1

Kept Me Hooked On: Groundhog Day-type books. I love the chance to relive the same day until you get it right. This was a lighter version of the concept and I think the only other book I’ve read like this was BEFORE I FALL which was a more solemn concept. It’s always interesting to see what the author does with the concept though!
Left Me Wanting More: Seriousness. The book was a teensy bit silly towards the beginning but it does add to the lightness of the book and the overall tone!

Addiction Rating
Read it!

A WEEK OF MONDAYS was just plain fun and a great take on reliving a day to get it right. I had so much fun with Ellie’s journey and I just love watching characters finally get everything right!

book_recommendations1

BOOKS LIKE A WEEK OF MONDAYS

(Click the cover to see my review!)

    ASK AGAIN LATER     BEFORE I FALL

ABOUT JESSICA BRODY

Jessica Brody - High Res_credit Brian Braff

Jessica Brody is the author of several popular books for teens, including the Unremembered trilogy, 52 Reasons to Hate My Father, and The Karma Club, as well as two adult novels. She splits her time between California and Colorado. Find out more at jessicabrody.com.


Thanks so much for taking the time to check out the blog tour for A WEEK OF MONDAYS and hope you enjoyed my review! Don’t miss the rest of the blog tour happening NOW! Keep up with A WEEK OF MONDAYS news with the hashtag #AWeekofMondays on social media! 

Unchanged (Unremembered #3) – Jessica Brody

Unchanged (Unremembered #3) – Jessica BrodyTitle: Unchanged (Unremembered #3) by Jessica Brody
Publishing Info: February 24, 2015 by Macmillan
Source: Received from the publisher for review purposes
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // GoodreadsDate Completed: February 14, 2015
Related Posts: Unremembered (Unremembered #1), Unforgotten (Unremembered #2), A Week of Mondays

    After returning to the Diotech compound and undergoing an experimental new memory alteration, Seraphina is now a loyal, obedient servant to Dr. Alixter and the powerful company that created her. Happy and in love with Kaelen, another scientifically-enhanced human designed to be her perfect match, Sera’s history with a boy named Zen is just a distant memory from a rebellious past she longs to forget.
But as Sera and Kaelen embark on a nationwide tour to promote Diotech’s new product line—a collection of controversial genetic modifications available to the public—Sera’s mind starts to rebel. She can’t stop the memories of Zen from creeping back in.
As more secrets are revealed, more enemies are uncovered, and the reality of a Diotech-controlled world grows closer every day, Sera will have to choose where her true loyalties lie, but it’s a choice that may cost her everything she’s ever loved.

bookreview1

** This is a spoiler-free review for UNCHANGED but there may be spoilers for the first two books if you have not read them. Readers be warned! **

Thank you, Jessica Brody, for a great finish to this trilogy! It’s been so much fun reading this series and I’ve been absolutely impressed with how much it’s grown over time. I had the pleasure of interviewing Jessica for the Unchanged Blog Tour and what I thought was really interesting was that she said she sort of wrote each book as a stand-alone but each of them were connected and I really liked this concept! A lot of time went by in between picking up one book to the next since I read each one right around its pub date so it was actually really great to be able to pick up the next book and not feel totally lost because I couldn’t remember what happened previously. (UNCHANGED had a nice little refresher too.)

The overall concept of UNCHANGED was so interesting. It’s no spoiler to say that when the book opens, we sort of re-meet Sera… After all of the progress that she made in UNFORGOTTEN, she’s once again a slave to Diotech’s mission although she believes in it willingly. This realization and what it means for her (and Zen) is just heartbreaking but it was also so much fun to root for Sera the whole book to wake up and smell the coffee and to take down the man!

Naturally, this causes complications for the romance. (BIG ones.) Not only is Sera back in with Diotech, but she feels connected with her “print mate” Kaelen. At the same time, she still remembers Zen but is convinced he had brought her over to the dark side (the events that occurred in UNFORGOTTEN). I’ll admit there were times in UNREMEMBERED when I wasn’t quite convinced what was so great about Zen and then really started to like him in UNFORGOTTEN and I started to totally understand — the UNCHANGED sort of shattered those pieces! (In a good way?) It brought about SO much more emotion and I got incredibly invested in everything that was going on! It really helped bring out so many more sides of each character as well. We get to dig a lot deeper into the minds of Sera, Zen, Kaelen, and even Dr. A!

UNCHANGED was a thrilling conclusion to this series! There was a whole lot of action and lots of great developments that kept pushing the plot forward. I really loved getting to know the characters so much better in this book and it was definitely the one I was most invested in plot-wise and emotionally! The Unremembered Trilogy was so entertaining and I was so happy to read such a well-put together science fiction collection! Everything got so much more detailed in each book and I just really love how it all came together in the end.

view_from_goodreads1

“The View from Goodreads” is a featured section in my reviews that I decided to incorporate! I tend to update my Goodreads status a LOT when I read — reactions, feelings, notes — so I thought it would be fun to share the sort of “reading process”! All status updates are spoiler-free (no specific plot points will be revealed) but will contain reactions to certain pages and/or characters!

Untitled

character_breakdown1

Sera // Character Obsessions: Diotech, Kaelen, being a good ExGen, the human side of things.
Gahhhh it was so hard to watch Sera in the grasp of Diotech again! Even more frustrating that she WANTED to be… but that also let the readers learn a lot more about her and who she is, deep down. It was very interesting!

addiction_factor1

Kept Me Hooked On: Science Fiction. I get pretty picky about science fiction books. The good ones are usually great and the ones I don’t get along with tend to really not work out for me. I’m so glad so many aspects of this trilogy really hit the spot!
Left Me Wanting More: Emotional connection. I actually felt the most emotion I had in this trilogy with UNCHANGED! But overall, I wish it had been there more in the first two books. UNCHANGED really played on the emotions so much more and I really got invested!

Addiction Rating
Read it!

This was a very entertaining trilogy and I think it’s a great series for people to pick up who aren’t as into science-fiction!

book_recommendations1

BOOKS LIKE UNCHANGED

(Click the cover to see my review!)

THE ADORATION OF JENNA FOX      ORIGIN

Blog Tour: Unchanged by Jessica Brody | Q&A + Giveaway!

Unchanged_Blog Tour BannerWelcome to the blog tour for
UNCHANGED by Jessica Brody!

Firstly, a big thank you to Macmillan for putting this blog tour together! I’m always so excited to be a part of these tours and so grateful I get to participate! This one is especially exciting because I read the first book in this trilogy, UNREMEMBERED, as an ARC and it’s been so much fun seeing this series come together from start to finish, as well as meeting Jessica several times in between, so to be on this blog tour is a very special occasion for me!

Before we get down to the Q&A with Jessica, let’s pause to give you a little more info on the trilogy if you’re not familiar with it yet!

UNREMEMBERED           UNFORGOTTEN

UNCHANGED

The Unremembered Trilogy by Jessica Brody

The series is action-packed science fiction with a dose of romance. Book 1, Unremembered, opens with Seraphina finding herself stranded in the middle of a plane wreck. She is the only survivor and has no memory of who she is or where she came from. As the series progresses, Sera learns she is genetically engineered by a super creepy corporation called Diotech. As more secrets are revealed, more enemies are uncovered, and the reality of a Diotech-controlled world grows closer with ever book, Sera will have to choose where her true loyalties lie, but it’s a choice that may cost her everything she’s ever loved.

Unremembered // Unforgotten // Unchanged


Q&A WITH JESSICA BRODY
On completing a trilogy

Brittany: First off, CONGRATULATIONS on having a full trilogy published and out in the world! How does it feel?
Jessica Brody: Thank you! It’s a little surreal and a little sad. I’ve been actually tearing up a lot lately now that I’ve started to promote the book and talk about it with the world. Up until this point everything about the story and the conclusion I had to keep to myself. Now that people are starting to read it and share their thoughts about the end with me, it’s been more emotional. When I first got the finished book in the mail a few weeks ago, I actually broke into tears. My husband caught it on video. You can see it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nluQg0w3Vgw

Brittany: I finished UNCHANGED (on sale now! Yay!) the other week and I just loved the cohesive plot throughout the series but how unique each book felt. Was it difficult to decide what content went into each individual book and how to split them up?
Jessica: THANK YOU SO MUCH! I’m so happy to hear you say that! 🙂 Each book did feel so different to me when I was writing it. It was almost as though I were writing three connected stand-alones. I think it’s because each book takes place in a very different setting (and time period!) so they each kind of have their own world. The thing that ties them together, of course, is Sera, and how out of place she feels in all of the worlds, even her “home.” But the series pretty much followed the outline that I used to sell this trilogy to my publisher. At least in terms of locations and major plot points. I always knew Book 1 would take place today, in our world, book 2 would take place in 1609 and book 3 would take place 100 years in the future. So not much of that has changed. What was most difficult was figuring out what all those worlds look like…and what they look like with Sera in them.

Brittany: Were there any major changes from start to finish of the series? Did UNCHANGED end like you had originally planned?
Jessica: Um…yes. I actually wrote the first 250 pages of UNCHANGED and then threw them all out! So it’s ironic that the book is called UNCHANGED. I just knew in my gut it wasn’t the right book and it wasn’t fixable. I simply had to start over. Very few of those scenes made it into the final draft. Most of them are lining my computer’s trash can! And then after I had a draft that I really loved, I sent it to my editor and she made me rewrite the first 140 pages again! All in all, though, I really feel like the book is better for it. I’ve never thrown out that many pages before and started over. And yet, I feel like this is my strongest book so maybe that says something about the challenging process I had.

Brittany: I’ve been lucky enough to meet you on a few Fierce Reads tours and those book tours look like SO much fun! (Although I’m sure exhausting!) What’s been your favorite experience since UNREMEMBERED’s release?
Jessica: Yes! I’ve enjoyed seeing you at our Chicago events! Obviously I’ve just loved meeting all the readers and visiting all these different cities (but, yes it’s exhausting!) It feels a lot like summer camp, though. You really bond with the authors you tour with. It’s hard not to! You spend nearly every waking moment with them. There was a night on my first Fierce Reads tour (in 2013) in Memphis. It was me, Anna Banks, Leigh Bardugo, and Emmy Laybourne. We all went out to eat on Beale Street and had just the most amazing food and the most amazing time. I remember lots of laughing and talking until late at night. It was just an incredible bonding experience. To this day, those ladies are still some of my closest friends.

Brittany: The Unremembered Trilogy is a sci-fi series and the connections between plot, characters, and technology were impressive! What was the most difficult part in planning a series?
Jessica: Well, at the risk of being too spoilery (too late!) the most difficult aspect was keeping track of all the time periods and who is where and when and what they’re doing and how it affects the rest of the story. I had this massive spreadsheet for my timeline that spanned from 1609 all the way to 2117. It was color coordinated and everything. It was insane. To this day I’m probably the only one who can read it. LOL!

Brittany: Of course I need to ask… what’s next!? Do you have any upcoming projects you can share with us?
Jessica: Oh gosh, I’m SO excited about my next book. I’m taking a little break from Sci-Fi for a while…this trilogy wore me out! And returning to my contemporary roots! I have a new book coming out in Spring 2016 called A WEEK OF MONDAYS. It’s about a teen girl who has to relive the same horrible Monday (in which her boyfriend breaks up with her) over and over again until she figures out how to fix it. It’s kind of like GROUNDHOG DAY meets SOME KIND OF WONDERFUL. It’s definitely a comedy. It’s definitely got lots of romance and shenanigans and overall it was just really fun to write. As much as I enjoyed the challenge of writing the sci-fi trilogy, it was really refreshing to write something light and fun again. I just turned in the first draft to my editor and thankfully she likes it! So we’re moving on in the process. I can’t wait to share it with everyone!
Thanks so much for having me on the blog, Brittany! I’m so happy you liked the book and I hope your readers will too!


 A big, big thank you to Jessica Brody for today’s interview! It’s always such a delight. If you haven’t read this series yet, I definitely recommend it! And for those of you interested in A WEEK OF MONDAYS, you can add it on Goodreads now!

// Want more of the Unremembered trilogy?

// And don’t miss the rest of the blog tour!

GIVEAWAY

Macmillan is graciously providing a copy of UNCHANGED for giveaway too! The winner will receive a hardcover copy of the book plus an exclusive Diotech compound blueprint + signed poster! This offer was only available with purchase through March 1st so if you missed it, you can still get it with this giveaway! Happy entering! (Giveaway is US only. Please only enter if we are able to ship your prize to a US address!)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Unforgotten (Unremembered #2) – Jessica Brody

Unforgotten (Unremembered #2) – Jessica BrodyTitle: Unforgotten (Unremembered #2) by Jessica Brody
Publishing Info: February 25, 2014 by Macmillan
Source: ARC
Genres: Science Fiction, Time Travel, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // GoodreadsDate Completed: January 21, 2014
Related Posts: Unremembered (Unremembered #1), A Week of Mondays

After a daring escape from the scientists at Diotech who created her, Seraphina believes she is finally safe from the horrors of her past. But new threats await Sera and her boyfriend, Zen, at every turn as Zen falls prey to a mysterious illness and Sera’s extraordinary abilities make it more and more difficult to stay hidden. Meanwhile, Diotech has developed a dangerous new weapon designed to apprehend her. A weapon that even Sera will be powerless to stop. Her only hope of saving Zen’s life and defeating the company that made her is a secret buried deep within her mind. A secret that Diotech will kill to protect. And it won’t stay forgotten for long.
    Packed with mystery, suspense, and romance, this riveting second installment of Jessica Brody’s Unremembered trilogy delivers more heart-pounding action as loyalties are tested, love becomes a weapon, and no one’s memories are safe.

bookreview1

** Warning: There WILL be spoilers for BOOK ONE, UNREMEMBERED so just be aware that in my review for book two, I can’t NOT talk about what happened in the first book! **

UNFORGOTTEN was absolutely thrilling and definitely a wild ride. Whereas there were tiny things in UNREMEMBERED that I didn’t quite jive with, I really fell into UNFORGOTTEN and finished it within two days which is a pretty quick pace considering it’s a 400+ page book! I really got sucked into the action and with UNFORGOTTEN being much more action-packed and fast-paced, I really couldn’t put it down!

UNREMEMBERED left us with the interesting twist in the plot and one of my favorite things about science-fiction: TIME TRAVEL. In UNFORGOTTEN, we got to see so much more of that, figure out exactly how the time travel system and mechanisms worked, and what it meant for Seraphina, Zen, and also some more minor characters as well. It actually plays a really big role in the book which I wasn’t expecting so that was a pleasant surprise!

I actually loved the set-up in the beginning. The book starts in a totally different place (and time!) but I felt like the set-up was important to sort of slow everything down from where book one left off and set everything up for book two. We got to see more character development in both Sera and Zen and really see their characters interact which was hard to do in UNREMEMBERED at times since there was a lot at stake, there were a couple of action-packed moments in which the focus was on movement and not character development, and Seraphina was still getting to know a lot about herself as well. I really felt the chemistry a lot more in UNFORGOTTEN and I was really glad to see that connection not only made but also strengthened.

There were a couple of new characters introduced and I don’t want to say too much about them because it’s quite exciting to discover them yourself, but I really loved their involvement in the plot and how calculating Sera was about them. It’s become so hard for her to trust people with Diotech always dogging her steps and I just loved the uncertainty of who the readers can trust and who they can’t. There’s never quite a clear answer until something major happens and it’s really quite exciting!

OH OH also!!! There’s another character from UNREMEMBERED who makes an appearance (and I also don’t want to say who it is although you might already know or be able to guess) but I was really excited to see their involvement in the plot and really how different that person had become. I always love seeing characters from previous books return in future books, especially if I’m not expecting it. I just love how plots tie in like that and it really makes the book feel like all the pieces are falling perfectly into place.

UNFORGOTTEN was extremely exciting and I think I enjoyed it more than UNREMEMBERED having a concrete idea of where the series was going. There were definitely a few surprises, some good plot twists, and really solid foundation of what the series is all about. This was a really great sequel and I think fans of this trilogy will really enjoy it!

character_breakdown1

Seraphina // Character Obsessions: Ditching Diotech, time travel, saving Zen.
Whereas I was hesitant about Sera in book one, I really started to like her a lot in UNFORGOTTEN. She’s finally starting to fill in the missing pieces and there’s even a sort of jab at her former-self and how spacy she had seemed in UNREMEMBERED!
Zen // Character Obsessions: Helping Sera, thwarting Diotech, surviving.
I really appreciated seeing a lot more of Zen in this book! The beginning of the book really sold me on him and let me find out more about him as well as establishing more chemistry with Sera.

addiction_factor1

Kept Me Hooked On: Time Travel. I just love time travel. I was so surprised to see how big of a role it really played in this book and seems like it will play in the entire series!
Left Me Wanting More: Hmmm… I can’t quite put my finger on it. This was another one of those books where I really enjoyed it but there was just a tiny bit of SOMETHING missing. I thought it was exciting and action-packed, I appreciated more character development and romance, even more shocking moments! But there was just a tiny bit of something that didn’t shoot it up to five stars for me.

Addiction Rating
Read it!

Fans of this series will appreciate a lot in UNFORGOTTEN! I’m excited to hear the reactions and see what everyone else thinks about this thrilling sequel!

book_recommendations1

(Click the cover to see my review!)

        Crewel          The Adoration of Jenna Fox

Unremembered (Unremembered #1) – Jessica Brody

Unremembered (Unremembered #1) – Jessica BrodyTitle: Unremembered (Unremembered #1) by Jessica Brody
Publishing Info: March 5, 2013 by Macmillan
Source: ARC
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // GoodreadsDate Completed: May 5, 2013
Related Posts: Unforgotten (Unremembered #2), A Week of Mondays

    Sixteen-year-old Sera is the only survivor of an explosion on a plane. She wakes up in hospital to find that she has no memory. The only clue to her identity is a mysterious boy who claims she was part of a top-secret science experiment. The only adult she trusts insists that she shouldn’t believe anything that anybody tells her. In a tense and pacy novel exploding with intrigue and action, Sera must work out who she is and where she came from. Eventually she will learn that the only thing worse than forgetting her past is remembering it.

bookreview1

I feel like I need to preface this by say that I was really, really skeptical about this book before I started because I feel like I saw so many 3 star & under reviews when the book first came out. I am so glad I decided to still give it a shot because honestly? I don’t 100% sure remember what those reviews didn’t like about it and I can take a few guesses… but personally, I really did enjoy it!

That being said, I think this book worked well with me in the end because the twists were so “me”. I don’t really want to go into what those twists were because, hello, spoiler alerts galore — I’ll just say that the direction the book was taken just suited some major elements that fascinate me. Those twists may have been what totally turned other people off and they just drew me in more, so I guess I can see if people were disappointed in that. I found it kind of fascinating! 

UNREMEMBERED is a hard book to talk about for me because I feel like even though I was really interested to see what was happening, I still found myself jumping straight to dialogue from time to time instead of reading all of the in between descriptors. Usually that means one of two things for me: 1) I’m so excited that I can’t wait to see what happens next so I jump to the meat of the story or 2) I’m trying to hurry to finish the book because I’m not entirely interested in the “filler” of the book and just the meat of the story. With UNREMEMBERED, I was definitely enjoying the book but I honestly can’t tell you which category I fell in when I was skipping to the dialogue. It was a little bit in the middle of the two, I’d have to say.

I will say that one thing I didn’t care for was the beginning of the book simply because our MC is SO affected by this amenesia that she not only is missing details about herself, but doesn’t remember things like HUGS and JOKES. I get erasing specific memories, but that seemed above and beyond things that would be forgotten and/or erased and frankly, it bothered me. I was glad that it wasn’t like that throughout the whole book or I really would have been annoyed. Things got better once the book started progressing and I started to feel like Sera/Violet was seeming more like a normal person (well, as normal as you can get with her abilities/strengths).

There was a romance… I was just ‘meh’ about it. I didn’t hate Zen but I was never crazy over the whole romance in the book either. It was necessary though as a driving factor for a lot of the book. I just didn’t swoon over the guy, that’s all!

I guess I would have to say for those looking to pick it up that be aware that this is a bit more sci-fi than paranormal. I thought it was going to be a lot more paranormal (maybe I was assuming so because it involved a plane crash and I was equating it to Lost subconsciously? Even though that’s sci-fi and not paranormal…  but there are many more science fiction elements than paranormal. I enjoyed the book because those elements present were definitely suited to my tastes and I can easily see how finding those out may turn other people off, if that’s not their bag. I’m happy that I still read the book because for a while with those negative reviews that I read, I was growing increasingly scared. It just goes to show you that so many people have different reading tastes and really all books are worth a try! You never know what you may love that someone else didn’t.

character_breakdown1

Sera/Violet/Jane Doe: I’m going to call her Sera since that’s what the blurb focuses on… I definitely didn’t like her in the beginning actually. With a mind wiped blank and so many silly little things lost that I didn’t think were necessary, she bothered me. Once we started to get into the main plot of the story…. Well, she still wasn’t my BFF, but I did like her and her story a lot more! I was still on her side and anxious to see what was going to happen.
Lyzander aka Zen: Zen is our love interest in this book and he was perfectly nice, but again, another character that I didn’t really get into too much. I never really swooned for him like I have for other book crushes, but it also wasn’t like “What does she see in him” — I was somewhere in the middle of the road for him.

addiction_factor1

Read it!

I really ended up enjoying this book! It didn’t TOTALLY bowl me over but I really had a great time reading it and I’m definitely interested in continuing. I can’t wait to see what happens next!!!

book_recommendations1BOOKS LIKE UNREMEMBERED

     The Adoration of Jenna Fox           Level 2