Archives

The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1) – Richelle Mead

The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1) – Richelle MeadTitle: The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1) by Richelle Mead
Publishing Info: April 5, 2016 by Penguin
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // Goodreads
Date Completed: April 29, 2016
Related Posts: Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2), Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy #3), Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4), Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy #5), Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1), The Golden Lily (Bloodlines #2), The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines #3), Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6), Gameboard of the Gods (Age of X #1)

Big and sweeping, spanning from the refined palaces of Osfrid to the gold dust and untamed forests of Adoria, The Glittering Court tells the story of Adelaide, an Osfridian countess who poses as her servant to escape an arranged marriage and start a new life in Adoria, the New World. But to do that, she must join the Glittering Court.
Both a school and a business venture, the Glittering Court is designed to transform impoverished girls into upper-class ladies who appear destined for powerful and wealthy marriages in the New World. Adelaide naturally excels in her training, and even makes a few friends: the fiery former laundress Tamsin and the beautiful Sirminican refugee Mira. She manages to keep her true identity hidden from all but one: the intriguing Cedric Thorn, son of the wealthy proprietor of the Glittering Court.
When Adelaide discovers that Cedric is hiding a dangerous secret of his own, together they hatch a scheme to make the best of Adelaide’s deception. Complications soon arise—first as they cross the treacherous seas from Osfrid to Adoria, and then when Adelaide catches the attention of a powerful governor.
But no complication will prove quite as daunting as the potent attraction simmering between Adelaide and Cedric. An attraction that, if acted on, would scandalize the Glittering Court and make them both outcasts in wild, vastly uncharted lands…

bookreview1

I fell in love with VAMPIRE ACADEMY and the whole series when I first started reading YA a few years ago and Richelle Mead’s books helped introduce me to a whole world of exciting adventures! I hadn’t read a new book from her in a while (still haven’t finished Bloodlines and it’s been a while since the last Age of X book) so I was really excited to see the audio for THE GLITTERING COURT pop up in my inbox! I really didn’t quite have an idea about what the book was about but I was excited to read a new Richelle Mead book!

Sadly, what I found was ultimately disappointing. The beginning had actually started off well! I had heard that THE GLITTERING COURT was fantasy but not a magical fantasy. Essentially, the setting is a fantasy world (as in, totally fabricated and not at all a part of the real world) but there are no magical elements. I’m totally okay with that (I loved The Winner’s Trilogy) and I don’t need magic to bring a world to life but this book REALLY fell flat. Wait, let me rewind.

The beginning of the book was entertaining. I love Richelle Mead’s humor and banter that I’ve enjoyed in other series like Vampire Academy, Bloodlines, and The Age of X. The characters were well-developed in the sense that their personalities easily came to life and made each one stand out. I wasn’t totally hooked right off the bat but I was easily following along and happy to be along for the ride (especially with a fun narrator) so the first half was a breeze to fly through.

THE GLITTERING COURT is essentially about a girl of noble status who runs away to The Glittering Court to find a new life for herself where she can be free — and this is really where the whole book lost me. Elizabeth (going by Adelaide — which was also confusing at times because I actually forgot what her real name was) wants to escape an arranged marriage so she runs away. Okay, I’m on board with that… But why to The Glittering Court where the whole concept is to find ANOTHER ARRANGED MARRIAGE? Sure, the girls get to “choose” who they marry but the choice is among the suitors who make the best offers. So not only is each girl contracted to choose a marriage partner within a specific time frame but the men are BUYING the women. How is this freedom…? This is only slightly different than Elizabeth’s original situation and it’s actually worse, in my opinion, because the women are being BOUGHT. How about a big fat no. That really screams freedom, right?

Anyway… I was letting that idea just lie there on the surface and trying not to look directly at it as I read. I was still entertained by the goings-on and it was enough that I still wanted to keep reading. But the more I read, the more I felt like everything was just a surface concept and nothing quite went too deep. I feel like Richelle Mead is known for several plot twists and surprising moments but THE GLITTERING COURT just didn’t have that for me until maybe the very end when some big things are revealed but for me, it was just too little too late. Intrigue wasn’t spread well enough throughout the book and the entire first half was just fancy parties, finishing school, frenemies, and manners. All well and good but not really anything to keep me hooked and wanting to continue this overall story.

Things really started to heat up when a little blackmail got involved (I mean, you knew it was coming but I was surprised at HOW) but then like every conflict thus far in the book, it quickly finds a (short-term) solution and the book moves on to something else. I think too many things happened and then got immediately resolved. Some points did end up coming back later in the book but it didn’t really feel like an over-arcing plot throughout the book and we sort of stepped from one idea to the next. I would have rather had one main conflict that extended throughout the whole book instead of conflict A, conflict B, conflict C, and so forth. They didn’t really seem to connect to each other even though the characters were connected and frankly, I really didn’t like a lot of the resolutions. Many times a character has to bend the rules or straight up break them in order to defeat a villain or make a better life for themselves but those usually dabble in gray areas that make the reader okay with it and sympathize with the character instead of dwelling on the wrongness of a situation. There were a few main points in THE GLITTERING COURT where a character’s actions just felt wholly dishonest or intentionally (and illegally) deceptive and it just felt like that crossed a bit more into the “wrongness” that is not an acceptable amount for me.

I was really lost once the book hit the 70% mark or so and things took an even more alt-history turn. THE GLITTERING COURT has a sort of a mix of Colonial America feels moving into the Industrial Era. I didn’t really consider it to be an American feel for most of the book because it was just kind of its own thing but really the trip to the “new world” essentially was across the sea and then new residents ended up mining gold claims. I was really thrown by this gold rush development because I wasn’t really thinking of this world in terms of being based off of American history, more or less, but that really struck me and the feel just felt totally off. Not to mention this part of the adventure felt totally separate and I just felt like it could have kicked off book two instead of being a part of book one. I would have rather had all of these places feel more unique instead of adapting American time periods to dictate its feel.

The plot during this setting change totally took a turn as well. The drama at the end wasn’t a surprise and yet it seemed out of place. It just felt sudden and I didn’t feel like it really transitioned well. It was like characters were hiding their secrets TOO well and it seemed off-base for what we had been told throughout the book. I suppose it could have been fine but the secrets that came out seemed so different from what I had known of the characters so far and with a few reveals all at once, it came off as forced instead of a natural reveal.

The characters didn’t feel deep to me either. Elizabeth/Adelaide was fierce and strong but then there were times when her objections to less-than-ideal conditions and hard work were incredibly irritating. That was the life that she chose and she knew it wasn’t going to be easy so I got bothered when she’d get all snobby again. (Then again at that point, I was already annoyed with the book.) I liked the tension between her and Cedric…… until that conflict was resolved and then all delightful tension was gone and I was bored. It wasn’t an easy solution, I suppose, and yet it felt too easily resolved. As much as the situation wasn’t an easy resolution, it was an immediate resolution and then the magic of their relationship fizzled.

I struggled to finish THE GLITTERING COURT, especially since the time that I started to grow annoyed happened around the release of the last book of a favorite series of mine, so it became hard to want to continue reading it. I honestly skimmed the end because I had grown so frustrated with the way the book turned. I have no interest in continuing the series and frankly, I don’t know where it would even go from here. I really don’t care to see what else this world holds and I’m so disappointed by the world-building and really overall concept here from Richelle Mead. This one really missed the mark for me. I’m so disappointed because the beginning of the book was entertaining but the ending just lacked so much that it really soured my whole opinion of it.

AUDIOBOOK IMPRESSIONS

Source: Review copy obtained from Listening Library/Penguin Random House Audio
Narrator: Kristen Sieh
Performance: Entertaining! Didn’t totally love her but she kept me hooked when the story was failing.

Kristen Sieh did a really good job narrating THE GLITTERING COURT! I hadn’t listened to anything from her before but I may seek out more books that’s she’s narrated. She was quite spunky and really gave the characters a lot of depth (especially when I felt none from the actual story) and she was the reason I was interested when the book started losing me. She has a British accent and I thought she did the American accents quite well (which doesn’t always work for me). I liked her narration and thought she did a great job but I’m still not totally sure that she’s a favorite.
view_from_goodreads1

“The View from Goodreads” is a featured section in my reviews that I decided to incorporate! I tend to update my Goodreads status a LOT when I read — reactions, feelings, notes — so I thought it would be fun to share the sort of “reading process”! All status updates are spoiler-free (no specific plot points will be revealed) but will contain reactions to certain pages and/or characters!

glittering court goodreads

character_breakdown1

Elizabeth/Adelaide // Character Obsessions: Hiding, freedom, love, knowledge.
As strong as Elizabeth/Adelaide was, she was more strong-willed and not actually a strong person. She ended up dealing with a lot and learned from it but she still found a lot of easy solutions instead of the right ones. I feel like she did physical hard work to go through this makeover concept but she didn’t really go through hardships and once she did, it was all for a boy. I wouldn’t say that lower status in order to pose as a common girl would qualify as overcoming a hardship and she does go through a lot in the end but still felt very shallow to me.
Cedric // Character Obsessions: Faith, money, Adelaide.
Cedric was weirdly enough the flattest character for me. We saw him through Elizabeth/Adelaide’s eyes so we saw a lot of her emotion but I didn’t really get a whole lot from Cedric. And then once romantic tension was resolved, he was even less interesting for me. I didn’t really feel that spark.

addiction_factor1

Kept Me Hooked On: Non-magical fantasy. I do appreciate another book that’s set in a fantasy world but without actual magic. I do love magic but it’s fun either way to see the world-building and new settings!
Left Me Wanting More: Plot. This seems like the weakest Richelle Mead book for me so far. No, it IS the weakest book for me so far. What happened to this plot? Half of the book was spent going through training in the Glittering Court. Why couldn’t we have spent that time getting into actual politics and intrigue and drama? The tone totally changed towards the end and by then, it just didn’t fit. I would have much rather spent time developing the twists — that did come — instead of wasting it on training and competition and courting. It seemed like such a waste to then have it be totally irrelevant.

Addiction Rating
Skip it

This was just so frustrating for me. Judging on the first half of the book, I would have said read it just for fun and don’t dwell on what should be underneath the surface… But after finishing, I just don’t think it’s worth the time.

book_recommendations1

BOOKS LIKE THE GLITTERING COURT

(Click the cover to see my review!)

PAWN    WITHER

Gameboard of the Gods (Age of X #1) – Richelle Mead

 

Gameboard of the Gods (Age of X #1) – Richelle MeadTitle: Gameboard of the Gods (Age of X #1) by Richelle Mead
Publishing Info: June 4, 2013 by Penguin
Source: Edelweiss
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Mythology, Mystery/Thriller, Dystopian
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // Goodreads
Date Completed: April 11, 2014
Related Posts: Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2), Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy #3), Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4), Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy #5), Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1), The Golden Lily (Bloodlines #2), The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines #3), Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6), The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1)

In a futuristic world nearly destroyed by religious extremists, Justin March lives in exile after failing in his job as an investigator of religious groups and supernatural claims. But Justin is given a second chance when Mae Koskinen comes to bring him back to the Republic of United North America (RUNA). Raised in an aristocratic caste, Mae is now a member of the military’s most elite and terrifying tier, a soldier with enhanced reflexes and skills.
When Justin and Mae are assigned to work together to solve a string of ritualistic murders, they soon realize that their discoveries have exposed them to terrible danger. As their investigation races forward, unknown enemies and powers greater than they can imagine are gathering in the shadows, ready to reclaim the world in which humans are merely game pieces on their board.
Gameboard of the Gods, the first installment of Richelle Mead’s Age of X series, will have all the elements that have made her YA Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series such megasuccesses: sexy, irresistible characters; romantic and mythological intrigue; and relentless action and suspense.

bookreview1

GAMEBOARD OF THE GODS is a little bit of everything… Part dystopian/speculative fiction, part paranormal, and part romance. This was the first adult book I’ve read from Richelle Mead so I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect, but I really had a lot of fun with the book although it wasn’t entirely what I was picturing. The book takes place in a speculative future world so I was anticipating more dystopian elements, but the paranormal and mythology-based aspects played a much larger part than I originally thought. My overall view felt more like a futuristic mystery with a touch of a DaVinci Code feel!

It actually took me a little while to get into the book because I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. Instead of diving into a concept head first, I had to feel it out a lot more. Since the only books from Richelle Mead I’m familiar with are the Vampire Academy series and its spin-off Bloodlines, it was a bit of a personal adjustment to fall into a new world with new characters who were totally unrelated. Not that it was a bad thing, but after reading nine books with the same theme and characters, it’s an adjustment nonetheless! Once I finally hit my stride, I was really starting to enjoy everything!

One thing that really appealed to me was the mystery of the book. I’m a mystery girl at heart so it was almost reminiscent of J.D. Robb’s In Death series for me — a futuristic world, a good romance, and a good mystery! I think if I had known the mystery was going to be so prominent, I might have fallen into the book easier but it definitely helped rope me in! It was very well put together too. I felt like I was getting plenty of clues along the way, but not enough that it was giving away the whole ending. Looking back once I finished, it was interesting to see how things had always fit together, even when I hadn’t known they were!

Another thing that really brought the book together for me was the characters. I loved the dynamic between Mae and Justin. I wanted them to get together and at the same time, I loved Mae’s constant refusal of his advances. It was a great back and forth and despite the fact that Justin probably annoyed Mae a lot, they worked together really well. The supporting characters were great as well! Each one had their own unique personality and played important roles to the story. I never felt like anyone was irrelevant and I just got such a realistic feel from each one of them!

The only minor complaint I really had was that I wished the book had started out a little quicker in the beginning. Since I wasn’t entirely sure where it was going, I was a little lost in the beginning with who Justin and Mae were supposed to be and what their purpose was. Once I got into the groove of the book, things really started to come together and take off. The ending was great and I really loved how it set everything up for the next book, which I’m excited to get to shortly!

view_from_goodreads1

“The View from Goodreads” is a new featured section in my reviews that I decided to incorporate! I tend to update my Goodreads status a LOT when I read — reactions, feelings, notes — so I thought it would be fun to share the sort of “reading process”! All status updates are spoiler-free (no specific plot points will be revealed) but will contain reactions to certain pages and/or characters!

gotg

It took me a while to get into, but I enjoyed the book overall! I think the end really helped wrap everything up and gave me a better overall feeling. 

character_breakdown1

Mae // Character Obsessions: The fight, her country, her duty.
Mae was feisty! I really liked her character and I’m also so glad we got to know more about her past and how it really came into play with the overall plot of the book. She was very complex and she didn’t often react based on emotions and yet, they still affected her a lot. It was very interesting!
Justin // Character Obsessions: Intelligence, solving mysteries, citizenship.
I liked Justin a lot! He was always making me laugh and I love when intelligence and humor come together. I think he was my favorite character! He had a lot of heart and somehow a mix of determination and laziness. He was kind of all over the place but in a good way! Definitely a lot of fun, though!

addiction_factor1

Kept Me Hooked On: The world. I love a story that has a dystopian US/North America. I wanted to learn all about the new world that Richelle Mead had created and almost wished there was some kind of Wikipedia page! I actually may go look now… I need to learn more about it!
Left Me Wanting More: Focus. As a person who goes into books blind, it was a little difficult to figure out what the point of the book was in the very beginning and I felt like it was a little bit slow to start. BUT! Things were set up for book two and I feel like that won’t be an issue in the future!

Addiction Rating
Try it

This book may not be for everyone, but I ended up really enjoying it! It was a nice mix of genres and if you like mysteries, this is a good one to jump into! So happy to see that element there!

book_recommendations1

(Click the cover to see my review!)

        Conspiracy In Death       First Grave on the Right

Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6) – Richelle Mead

Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6) – Richelle MeadTitle: Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6) by Richelle Mead
Publishing Info: December 7, 2010 by Penguin
Genres: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Vampires, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // Goodreads
Date Completed: June 23, 2013
Related Posts: Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2), Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy #3), Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4), Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy #5), Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1), The Golden Lily (Bloodlines #2), The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines #3), Gameboard of the Gods (Age of X #1), The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1)

    Rose Hathaway has always played by her own rules. She broke the law when she ran away from St. Vladimir's Academy with her best friend and last surviving Dragomir princess, Lissa. She broke the law when she fell in love with her gorgeous, off-limits instructor, Dimitri. And she dared to defy Queen Tatiana, leader of the Moroi world, risking her life and reputation to protect generations of dhampir guardians to come.
    Now the law has finally caught up with Rose - for a crime she didn't even commit. She's in prison for the highest offense imaginable: the assassination of a monarch. She'll need help from both Dimitri and Adrian to find the one living person who can stall her execution and force the Moroi elite to acknowledge a shocking new candidate for the royal throne: Vasilisa Dragomir.
    But the clock on Rose's life is running out. Rose knows in her heart the world of the dead wants her back...and this time she is truly out of second chances. The big question is, when your whole life is about saving others, who will save you?

bookreview1

I finished a series!!! *happy dance* Aren’t you guys proud of me!? I FINALLY finished the Vampire Academy series! It only took me…. forever. Anyway, let’s talk about it, shall we? So I started LAST SACRIFICE, and at first I was scared. Because I participated in the “Who Is Marcus Finch” campaign in the beginning of the year, therefore deciding to read ALL of the Bloodlines series (that’s out so far) before finishing VA, I was very nervous that LAST SACRIFICE was going to be anti-climactic. I guess I can say that although BL did have a few spoilers for the last book here, there were still so many things that I was excited to find out and regardless of spoilers, I still needed to see how it wrapped up!

lastsacrifice

So LAST SACRIFICE starts with Rose in prison for a crime that we know she didn’t commit, but basically everyone else in the vampire world thinks she did. Typical! The beginning was just a tad slow because obviously… Rose is in prison. We can only do so much with that for so long. Thankfully it didn’t take too long for her to get out. LAST SACRIFICE definitely kept me on my toes (once we busted out of the prison part) with the usual chases, escapes, and complete surprises that are so characteristic of the Vampire Academy series.

One thing that I really liked was thinking how Rose has grown as a person/character throughout the series. She will always be a “react first, think later” kind of person, but you can see how much she’s changed and matured to still keep her instincts at the ready, but also to allow herself to use her head and her heart in balance when making her decisions. I think many of the characters have matured nicely throughout the series, an obvious one being Lissa. Lissa has to secure her place on court since she’s part of a royal bloodline, but with no living relatives, has to find a way to do it (because for those of you who don’t know, you need that one extra relative to validate you). It’s obvious for people who have read LAST SACRIFICE and/or The Bloodlines series (since it is a spin-off series) how much Lissa really has changed, grown, and overcome in these last couple books. She’s actually one of my favorite characters from the series and I don’t think I realized that until very recently.

The Rose and Dimitri Story… The romance between Rose & Dimitri has basically been half of why I loved this series so much. I don’t know why but a good forbidden romance just GETS me. They love each other… but no! They can’t be together! Anyway… I actually felt just a tiny bit let down by that forbidden romance aspect in LAST SACRIFICE because as silly as it is to say, it just wasn’t angsty enough for me! Ultimately, okay. (This is not a spoiler because this has been my OPINION the entire series) In my mind, I KNEW they were going to end up together and yes, that’s what I wanted… But there wasn’t enough tug on my heart with the back-and-forth in this book. I will say that I’m glad the book wrapped up this romance the way that it did and it definitely had to happen in the very last book because well… It just wouldn’t be exciting if that carried on in future books! That angsty romance just lost a tiiiiiny bit of its spark for me in the last book, but who am I kidding. I still love it!

The killer twists are always a very, very favorite part of Richelle Mead’s books, but like I mentioned earlier, I kiiiind of spoiled a really big one for myself but reading BLOODLINES. *shrugs* Can’t really do much about that now, but I got to enjoy LAST SACRIFICE in a different way: After reading Bloodlines and getting a very brief idea of what happened in LS, it was actually kind of fun to “go back in time” and see how it really happened. I actually had pieces of the puzzle in Bloodlines so it was actually fun to see how those pieces came together in LAST SACRIFICE. I didn’t quite enjoy the book the way it was intended with the total shockers, but I got to almost see a different side of it and that was kind of cool too.
There were still some things that were able to surprise me that hadn’t gotten spoiled by reading Bloodlines first and then even still, there were some more moments of clarity where I would stop and say, “Ohhhhhh, I get it!” Would I recommend finishing VA before starting Bloodlines? Absolutely. But if you don’t, the rest of the VA series should still be enjoyable, but in a slightly different way.

character_breakdown1

Rose Hathaway // Character obsessions: Dimitri, kicking Strigoi ass.
I clearly never hated Rose (since I read the entire series) but I will say that she grew on me over the course of the series. I’m actually a little proud of her for maturing and starting to act like an adult in this last book. Haha, Richelle Mead really did a number on me here — I’m acting like Rose is a real person so I guess she did a really great job with that!
Lissa Dragomir // Character obsessions: Spirit magic.
I don’t think I knew it for a long time, but Lissa is actually one of my favorite characters. She was a balance of head when Rose acted with heart and she’s always had a sort of maturity about her that I really appreciate. I like how she changed in this book as well — She’s always been good with a crowd and diplomatic, but here she really owned it and started to not just be appropriate amongst the Royals, but really take charge and start acting like she really had something to fight for.
Sydney Sage // Character obessions: Work, looking presentable, responsibility.
So I’ve read all three of the Bloodlines books that are out so far and… I like Sydney more in VA than I did getting Bloodlines from her POV. The Sydney in VA is seen through Rose’s eyes, so she’s serious and focused, but also sarcastic and clearly out of her element considering she’s helping vampires. In Bloodlines we read from her POV and just allllll the insecurities I read from her stream of consciousness kind of negate the badassness that I saw so much of in VA. It was much easier for me to read her through Rose’s POV than from her own.

addiction_factor1

Kept Me Hooked On: Vampires. I realized that the books in this series were the only vampire books I’ve read since Twilight! I was “over” that phase even when I started reading VA so they’ve definitely held my interest!
Left Me Wanting More: Swoony times. Rose & Dimitri’s relationship was basically half of the fun of these books and I felt like there weren’t a lot of good swoony moments in LAST SACRIFICE!

Addiction Rating
BUY & RECOMMEND.

While it wasn’t my favorite of the series, Vampire Academy will always hold a special place on my shelves. I have to round out my collection of books by completing the series!

book_recommendations1

     Bloodlines      something Strange and Deadly

The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines #3) – Richelle Mead

The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines #3) – Richelle MeadTitle: The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines #3) by Richelle Mead
Publishing Info: February 12, 2013 by Penguin
Source: Received from the publisher for review purposes
Genres: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Vampires, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // Goodreads
Date Completed: January 23, 2013
Related Posts: Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2), Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy #3), Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4), Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy #5), Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1), The Golden Lily (Bloodlines #2), Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6), Gameboard of the Gods (Age of X #1), The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1)

    Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets--and human lives."
In the aftermath of a forbidden moment that rocked Sydney to her core, she finds herself struggling to draw the line between her Alchemist teachings and what her heart is urging her to do. Then she meets alluring, rebellious Marcus Finch--a former Alchemist who escaped against all odds, and is now on the run. Marcus wants to teach Sydney the secrets he claims the Alchemists are hiding from her. But as he pushes her to rebel against the people who raised her, Sydney finds that breaking free is harder than she thought. There is an old and mysterious magic rooted deeply within her. And as she searches for an evil magic user targeting powerful young witches, she realizes that her only hope is to embrace her magical blood--or else she might be next.

bookreview1

THE INDIGO SPELL for the win!! When reading BLOODLINES and THE GOLDEN LILY, I was enjoying the books but really kind of “ehhh” on how I felt about them. The stories were great and I loved the way the plot was unfolding, but the whole time, I just kept thinking “It’s just not Vampire Academy”. Well, I guess THE INDIGO SPELL still isn’t quite on par with VA for me (I know you’re tired of hearing it), but I felt like it had a lot more action and intrigue than the first two books did!

Guys, not only are we dealing with vampire magic, we’ve got more of the occult in here. That’s right. Witchcraft. I think this was a great turn in the overall plot of the Bloodlines series because it helps us edge away from the vampire focus and get more into Sydney’s life. Maybe this will finally help me stop comparing the two series!

SYDNEY. You guys know how much I was struggling to get along with Sydney and I think we’re finally starting to become friends. She’s really starting to figure out her own life and question everything she was taught as an Alchemist and I’m loving it! She’s becoming her own person, loosening up a bit, and it’s really helping how well I’m getting along with her character.

Oh, and PS — There are KISSING SCENES. With ADRIAN. Swoon.

character_breakdown1

Sydney Sage: You go, girl! Sydney is finally starting to think for herself and it makes it so much better for me to read. She’s still a little reserved but becoming more and more confident. I think I really like bold heroines, especially in books where they’re acting as protectors and weilding magic, so I’m totally on board with the new Sydney.
Adrian Ivashkov: Still loving Adrian! I don’t think that’ll change.
Angeline: Ehhh I’m warming up to her a little bit….. But I still kind of hate her guts. I think I’m just understanding her more than liking her.

QUOTES

Please note that these quotes have been taken from the ARC copy. Please refer to finished copy for final text.

p28: [Adrian] “You’re not as much of a lost cause as she was. I mean, with her, I had to overcome her deep, epic love with a Russian warlord. You and I just have to overcome hundreds of years’ worth of deeply ingrained prejudice and taboo between our two races. Easy.”

p86: [Sydney] “Something I’d learned over the years: It was never a good thing when people said, ‘Here’s something I never told you…’

Haha that reminds me of Death Becomes Her: “NOW a warning!?” (I actually tried to find a gif with no luck… Bummer.)

addiction_factor1

Buy it!

If you’re this far in the series, it’s worth the read! Personally, I think the series keeps getting better!

book_recommendations1

                

The Golden Lily (Bloodlines #2) – Richelle Mead

The Golden Lily (Bloodlines #2) – Richelle MeadTitle: The Golden Lily (Bloodlines #2) by Richelle Mead
Publishing Info: June 12, 2012 by Penguin
Source: Library
Genres: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Vampires, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // Goodreads
Date Completed: January 20, 2013
Related Posts: Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2), Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy #3), Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4), Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy #5), Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1), The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines #3), Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6), Gameboard of the Gods (Age of X #1), The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1)

    Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets—and human lives.
Sydney would love to go to college, but instead, she’s been sent into hiding at a posh boarding school in Palm Springs, California–tasked with protecting Moroi princess Jill Dragomir from assassins who want to throw the Moroi court into civil war. Formerly in disgrace, Sydney is now praised for her loyalty and obedience, and held up as the model of an exemplary Alchemist.
But the closer she grows to Jill, Eddie, and especially Adrian, the more she finds herself questioning her age–old Alchemist beliefs, her idea of family, and the sense of what it means to truly belong. Her world becomes even more complicated when magical experiments show Sydney may hold the key to prevent becoming Strigoi—the fiercest vampires, the ones who don’t die. But it’s her fear of being just that—special, magical, powerful—that scares her more than anything. Equally daunting is her new romance with Brayden, a cute, brainy guy who seems to be her match in every way. Yet, as perfect as he seems, Sydney finds herself being drawn to someone else—someone forbidden to her.
When a shocking secret threatens to tear the vampire world apart, Sydney’s loyalties are suddenly tested more than ever before. She wonders how she's supposed to strike a balance between the principles and dogmas she's been taught, and what her instincts are now telling her.
Should she trust the Alchemists—or her heart?
  

bookreview1

Okay, I will say that I enjoyed THE GOLDEN LILY more than BLOODLINES, but at the same time I still had the some of the same issues. Sydney is a good heroine for these novels, but I’m still not quite convinced on how much I like her. She definitely has some deep-seeded personal issues that stem from the strict rules of the Alchemists and these issues make her more reserved which gets a bit tiresome at times. She’s incredibly intelligent and studious, but so much so that it makes her incredibly naive and unaware of social surroundings. All of that kind of got on my nerves so I was still having a little trouble really supporting Sydney – The good thing about all of that is that slowly but surely, Sydney is really starting to come into her own ideas and beliefs and question the rigidity of the Alchemists’ beliefs, like any good MC does.

I definitely liked where the plot was heading in THE GOLDEN LILY. We see a few more secrets unearthed and some more truths come to light that really puts an interesting twist on the relationship between the vampire community and the Alchemists. I really enjoyed some of the plot twists, but at the same time, I can’t help but compare the series so far to that of Vampire Academy and in doing so, I’m just not as into it as I was with VA. Sydney’s world is still intertwined with the Moroi and dhampirs, but when we were following Rose’s story, we got to see the school atmosphere where she was learning how to be a guardian and I really felt like that explanation and creation of the vampire world added a whole separate aspect to the story that I’m missing with BLOODLINES so far. I’m not feeling as connected with the world of the Alchemists because Sydney is actually removed from it and attending a normal school.

Overall in the series so far, I feel a general lack of action-packed scenes. I think normally, I wouldn’t have noticed the difference, but after coming off the jam-packed thrill ride that was Vampire Academy, I’m just missing all of those different fight scenes. There’s also a lack of “OMG moments” that were so prevalent in VA that I’m still missing in BLOODLINES as well.

As far as secondary characters and their story lines go, I’m kind of take it or leave it. Adrian is still a great main character and I’m loving how much more we see of him in BLOODLINES and THE GOLDEN LILY, but I’m pretty much ambivalent about Eddie and Jill, and I’m actively disliking Angeline. I AM more interested in Trey, especially after his character’s development in THE GOLDEN LILY, so I’m really curious to see his role in future books.

character_breakdown1

Sydney Sage: Sydney is still pretty blah for me. I’m kind of over the plain-clothes jokes and how clueless she is about picking up on social cues. I mean, I get it. I guess in her Alchemist training it really wasn’t a part of her life. Still, I’m hoping she’ll just hurry up and become a little more normal because whereas it was just okay in the first book, it started to really wear on me in TGL.
Adrian Ivashkov: Yay Adrian! He really has the best lines. Ever. They’re so snarky and sarcastic and absolutely hilarious. He’s becoming such a great, well-rounded character.
Brayden: Oh. My. Gosh. Hated him. So incredibly boring and pretentious.

addiction_factor1

Read it!

I’m not TOTALLY sold yet but Richelle Mead’s books are always enjoyable! If you’re a VA fan, chances are you’ll still really enjoy this series too!

book_recommendations1

           

Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1) – Richelle Mead

Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1) – Richelle MeadTitle: Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1) by Richelle Mead
Publishing Info: August 23, 2011 by Penguin
Source: Library
Genres: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Vampires, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // Goodreads
Date Completed: January 13, 2013
Related Posts: Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2), Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy #3), Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4), Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy #5), The Golden Lily (Bloodlines #2), The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines #3), Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6), Gameboard of the Gods (Age of X #1), The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1)

    Sydney is an alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of human and vampires. They protect vampire secrets - and human lives. When Sydney is torn from her bed in the middle of the night, at first she thinks she's still being punished for her complicated alliance with dhampir Rose Hathaway. But what unfolds is far worse. Jill Dragomir - the sister of Moroi Queen Lissa Dragomir - is in mortal danger, and the Moroi must send her into hiding. To avoid a civil war, Sydney is called upon to act as Jill's guardian and protector, posing as her roommate in the last place anyone would think to look for vampire royalty - a human boarding school in Palm Springs, California. But instead of finding safety at Amberwood Prep, Sydney discovers the drama is only just beginning... 

bookreview1

BLOODLINES is a great spin-off series from Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy series (And may I say, you really HAVE to finish VA first as there are some major plot points as spoilers from the last book that you will be missing if you don’t). We get to follow the story of Sydney Sage and her duties as an Alchemist, viewing the very anti-vampire feelings that the Alchemists hold dear. It was really interesting to see this side of the story with Sydney bridging the gap between the vamp-hating Alchemists and her duties to protect a Moroi, constantly debating whether she should feel bad for being friendly with Moroi and dhampirs or if maybe it was time for a new wave of acceptance to come through.

I actually felt like the story line was just a bit slow for my tastes after the constant rush and excitement of the Vampire Academy series BUT I do remember reading book one of VA and remeber that one being slower than all of the other ones that followed it. Maybe it was just that we needed to take book one to really establish some of hte new characters and fit the familiar characters into a new surrounding? I’m not really sure. I was just hoping for a tiny bit more action and maybe we’ll see that in book two since we have our series plot line all set up.

Guys. GUYS. With BLOODLINES, I’m finally understanding the Adrian-factor! I think in VA I was just too blinded by Dimitri. I mean, how could you not be? So I never really gave Adrian a fair shot and I felt like he always kind of fell to the background. BLOODLINES, however, totally delivered a fun, snarky, and charming Adrian character. I can’t wait to see more of him as a prominent character.

I think I was just missing a little bit more action from BLOODLINES and felt like some of the plot turns were a little bit predicatable whereas with VA, Mead always found a way to knock me off my feet. I’m still really excited for the upcoming books and can’t wait to see where else this series goes!

character_breakdown1
Sydney Sage: I definitely see similarities and differences all at the same time between Sydney as a main character and Rose as a main character. I was glad, though, that for as much as the other characters tease Sydney about being uptight, she’s definitely not boring! She’s strong and has a mind of her own, refusing to blindly believe everything that the Alchemists follow. I’m really looking forward to seeing her character develop throughout the series.
Adrian Ivashkov: FINALLY. I GET IT!!!! I loved Adrian in this book. He was funny, snarky, witty – everything that he was in VA, but this time he gets a spotlight and has several hilarious lines in the book. I’m still not quite feeling the possible romance between him & Sydney but I don’t doubt that that’ll quickly change.
Eddie: I loved that Eddie is a part of BLOODLINES. He was a great secondary character in VA and here we get to see his character shine a bit more. What a great addition to this ensemble!

addiction_factor1

Read it!

This was a really fun first book in a new series from Richelle Mead. I had a lot of fun reading this one and I’m definitely looking forward to more in this series!

book_recommendations1

              

Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy #5) – Richelle Mead

Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy #5) – Richelle MeadTitle: Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy #5) by Richelle Mead
Publishing Info: May 18, 2010 by Penguin
Genres: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Vampires, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // Goodreads
Date Completed: November 17, 2012
Related Posts: Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2), Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy #3), Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4), Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1), The Golden Lily (Bloodlines #2), The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines #3), Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6), Gameboard of the Gods (Age of X #1), The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1)

    Dimitri gave Rose the ultimate choice. But she chose wrong...
    After a long and heartbreaking journey to Dimitri's birthplace in Siberia, Rose Hathaway has finally returned to St. Vladimir's-and to her best friend, Lissa. It is nearly graduation, and the girls can't wait for their real lives beyond the Academy's iron gates to begin. But Rose's heart still aches for Dimitri, and she knows he's out there, somewhere.
    She failed to kill him when she had the chance. And now her worst fears are about to come true. Dimitri has tasted her blood, and now he is hunting her. And this time he won't rest until Rose joins him... forever.

bookreview1

Okay, friends. Turn back now if you want to avoid any spoilers because the deeper I get into this series, the more virtually impossible it becomes for me not to say anything spoiler-y! Mostly for the books that have come before this one, but I need to talk about other things that happened in SPIRIT BOUND too!

Okay, so first off, I definitely enjoyed this one more than I enjoyed BLOOD PROMISE, but still not as much as the first three books of the series. I think in BLOOD PROMISE, I had my second book syndrome except two books late. Usually in trilogies, I have second book syndrome and I just get so disappointed because too many things change all at once and I get lost in the story. I think that was what happened with BLOOD PROMISE. We were far away in Siberia, away from too many of our favorite characters and introduced to too many new ones. Now that Rose is back from Russia and reunited with her old classmates, I totally got on board again.

What I just realized (since I’m writing the review after literally just finishing the book) is wait a second! What happened to Victor? I just realized in all the commotion from the finale of this book that we lose Victor and Robert in the plot. Hm. Anyway, we did gain Dimitri back and in a whole new way! Wow, the interactions between Rose and Dimitri in SPIRIT BOUND were entirely different from BLOOD PROMISE. I went from being afraid for the both of them to being hopeful to being heartbroken all over again. It’s just a roller coaster ride – Granted, I did lose a lot of momentum in their relationship and the love I had for this relationship since the first couple of books, but I still have a lot of hope for them yet. I can’t wait to see how this evolves in the last book.

Yet another surprise ending from Mead! I’m always amazed each time the plot twists that she throws into our characters paths. I can’t wait to see how the series wraps up!

character_breakdown1

Dimitri: Ahhh, Dimitri! What a roller coaster you have gone on as far as characters go – probably the most changes I’ve seen from a character in a series. I can’t wait to see what his fate (or Mead’s crazy ideas) hold for him in the last book! And everything that happens in this book is perfectly logical and totally appropriate for the way his character would act.
Lissa: I’m loving the development with Lissa’s character. We’re slowly but surely seeing some awesome progress in her character, both emotionally and physically as well as magically. I love how Mead has had her character evolve so slowly throughout the books. I feel like it’s been really believable and much more enjoyable that way.
Adrian: Frankly I feel bad for Adrian! I know he likes Rose but poor guy, you just know Rose and Dimitri are supposed to be together. Even seeing her and Adrian together just seemed so wrong. I guess that’s great writing on Mead’s part — I was definitely following the story line that was clearly laid out to us.

addiction_factor1

Read it

I enjoyed SPIRIT BOUND! Still not my favorite but UGH these books. They just keep me going and going. I can’t wait to see what happens in the final book!

book_recommendations1BOOKS LIKE SPIRIT BOUND

Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4) – Richelle Mead

Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4) – Richelle MeadTitle: Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4) by Richelle Mead
Publishing Info: August 25, 2009 by Penguin
Source: Library
Genres: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Vampires, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // Goodreads
Date Completed: October 14, 2012
Related Posts: Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2), Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy #3), Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy #5), Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1), The Golden Lily (Bloodlines #2), The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines #3), Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6), Gameboard of the Gods (Age of X #1), The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1)

    The recent Strigoi attack at St. Vladimir’s Academy was the deadliest ever in the school’s history, claiming the lives of Moroi students, teachers, and guardians alike. Even worse, the Strigoi took some of their victims with them . . . including Dimitri. He’d rather die than be one of them, and now Rose must abandon her best friend, Lissa—the one she has sworn to protect no matter what—and keep the promise Dimitri begged her to make long ago. But with everything at stake, how can she possibly destroy the person she loves most?

bookreview1

I was slightly disappointed in the beginning, I must say. I felt like it was pretty slow to start. Yes, there was a lot of necessary set up, but after the way book three ended I was DYING to know what happened to Dimitri. Weren’t we all!? So we know that Rose is wandering about in Russia, but I was just like, “Come on, already! I’m dying here!”

Finally it start to get REALLY good. We finally get to know what happened to Dimitri, where he went, what his life has become now that he’s a Strigoi. And agh, it’s just so hard to review this book without saying anything about when Rose and Dimitri finally encounter each other since that would be like spoiler after spoiler. I guess the best thing I can say is that even as that part of the story was progressing, I still really didn’t know how it was going to end up. All the while I kept hoping for redemption for Dimitri, but we know there’s not way to “turn a Strigoi back”. So how could it end any other way except Rose killing him? It was quite the interesting situation to say the least!

In true Mead fashion, there were a few nice twists at the end!! Nothing quite as shocking as previous books, but still left me with a lot of questions that I NEED answered. Needless to say, I’m definitely going to pick up book 5 soon!!

character_breakdown1

Avery: I always got a bad vibe from Avery, but it looks like there was a lot more to her character than we really know.
Abe: I was with Rose on this one — I figured Abe for a vampire gangster-type person. But he was a tough one to figure out. He seemed vile and threatening, but then again never really acted to live up to those expectations. For those who haven’t read the book, I won’t give it away, but we do find out there’s more to Abe than anyone lets on (or maybe just knows since our characters are in the dark too).
Dimitri: Oh, Dimitri. It was heartbreaking to read about him as a Strigoi. His and Rose’s relationship is one of my favorites so I had no idea how the series could continue on with him as the undead. I guess we do get some answers to this, but even still, it was so weird to read!

book_recommendations1

Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy #3) – Richelle Mead

Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy #3) – Richelle MeadTitle: Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy #3) by Richelle Mead
Publishing Info: November 13, 2008 by Penguin
Genres: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Vampires, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // Goodreads
Date Completed: September 14, 2012
Related Posts: Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2), Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4), Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy #5), Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1), The Golden Lily (Bloodlines #2), The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines #3), Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6), Gameboard of the Gods (Age of X #1), The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1)

    It's springtime at St. Vladimir's Academy, and Rose Hathaway is this close to graduation. Since making her first Strigoi kills, Rose hasn't been feeling quite right. She's having dark thoughts, behaving erratically, and worst of all... might be seeing ghosts.
As Rose questions her sanity, new complications arise. Lissa has begun experimenting with her magic once more, their enemy Victor Dashkov might be set free, and Rose's forbidden relationship with Dimitri is starting to heat up again. But when a deadly threat no one saw coming changes their entire world, Rose must put her own life on the line - and choose between the two people she loves most.

bookreview1

Wow, it’s almost really hard to talk about this book without being spoiler-y. I really like how Richelle Mead sets things up so well in the book. We get lots of little hints of foreshadowing in the beginning when Rose and Lissa visit the fortune teller. Lots of little things pop up throughout the book and I was like, “Oh yeah! Oh wait… oh no!!!”

LOVE the development between Rose and Dimitri in this book. We finally get to see them taking baby steps toward actually being together (yay!) which is something that they’ve been denying themselves (and us. Come on, already!) so that tension is finally starting to break.

Just like FROSTBITE, Mead leaves us with a HUGE surprise. I literally gasped and slapped my hand over my mouth. I really honestly have NO idea where the next book will take us and I’m so tempted just to keep reading straight on to find out! And who’s the blonde? That’s a really pretty spoiler-y question, but you wouldn’t know what I was talking about until you got to that point in the book anyway!

character_breakdown1

Rose: Well, she’s typical Rose still. Hot-headed, feisty – But I do like that we get to see a more serious side of her. She’s finally starting to understand the real seriousness of her being Lissa’s guardian and she really wants to prove to herself and to the staff that she can do it. She’s starting to think more rationally and maturely instead of like a rash teenager and I love it.
Dimitri: Dimitri, I love you. One of my favorite love interests in any book I’ve read! We get to stir up a little more passion in this book instead of pushing everything down and it’s like, FINALLY. And as always, I love that protector role.
Eddie: I really liked seeing more of Eddie in this book. He had a major part in the end of Frostbite, but I still didn’t feel like he had a major role. He’s a great character and we really start to make a connection with him here.

QUOTES

P131: “Victor had figured it out by watching us and gathering data. I guess when you’re a scheming villain, you get good at that stuff.”

P178:  Rose: Why do you read these? Dimitri: Some people read books for fun.

addiction_factor1Read it!

While SHADOW KISS wasn’t my favorite of the series so far, it was definitely still a lot of fun! These books are just addicting.

book_recommendations1

             

Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2) – Richelle Mead

Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2) – Richelle MeadTitle: Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2) by Richelle Mead
Publishing Info: April 10, 2008 by Penguin
Genres: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Vampires, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // Goodreads
Date Completed: June 9, 2012
Related Posts: Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy #3), Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4), Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy #5), Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1), The Golden Lily (Bloodlines #2), The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines #3), Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6), Gameboard of the Gods (Age of X #1), The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1)

Rose loves Dimitri, Dimitri might love Tasha, and Mason would die to be with Rose... It’s winter break at St. Vladimir’s, but Rose is feeling anything but festive. A massive Strigoi attack has put the school on high alert, and now the Academy’s crawling with Guardians—including Rose’s hard-hitting mother, Janine Hathaway. And if handto- hand combat with her mom wasn’t bad enough, Rose’s tutor Dimitri has his eye on someone else, her friend Mason’s got a huge crush on her, and Rose keeps getting stuck in Lissa’s head while she’s making out with her boyfriend, Christian! The Strigoi are closing in, and the Academy’s not taking any risks.... This year, St. Vlad’s annual holiday ski trip is mandatory. But the glittering winter landscape and the posh Idaho resort only create the illusion of safety. When three friends run away in an offensive move against the deadly Strigoi, Rose must join forces with Christian to rescue them. But heroism rarely comes without a price...

Breaking It Down Further: Dhampir Rose Hathaway is about to take one of the biggest tests of her life as a guardian until a massive Strigoi attack occurs, leaving Rose in fear for her best friend Lissa’s life and the rest of the Moroi world in fear or a new string of killings. In attempts to keep the vampire academy safe, a mandatory ski trip in Idaho is in order and for a while, dhampirs and Moroi get to let loose as much as they can for a while – Until the politicking begins.  It’s a quarrel of whether Moroi should begin to learn to fight back, learn to use their powers defensively, and whether they should seek out the Strigoi before they have the opportunity to attack. When Mason hears of a group of Strigoi out in Oregon, he takes the initiative along with two other classmates to take them down.  With Rose being the only person aware of what they’ve done, she takes off after them in a thrilling conclusion to the adventure.

bookreview1

Whoa. This book was awesome. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the first book, but FROSTBITE really took me on quite the adventure and I could not put it down. I was swept away and caught up in Rose’s thrilling story and I can’t believe how totally engrossed in the book I became!

First off — I love being able to see how Rose is growing. A popular theme in this book is how she’s still a child, she’s still young, but (even pointed out by herself) her classmates and even Dimitri admit in the end how much she’s really becoming more and more responsible bit by bit and her desire to learn and protect is helping her become a great guardian.

Then there’s the love triangle — It really did play off well! I’m totally for Rose & Dimitri (as I think we’re all supposed to be), but throwing Mason in the mix as a more likely suitor was quite the curveball. Mason is such a likable guy as well, but more in an obvious way. He’s the classic good guy, charming, flirtatious – And he really is someone else to root for as well. All the while though, I still found myself really pulling for Dimitri to come around! It’s the forbidden aspect of it, the temptation, and you can just feel the chemistry.

Then of course, the whole story line that develops here. I won’t give any spoilers away but I was totally sucked in throughout the entire end of the book. It was a mile a minute pace with Rose as the freshly self-appointed heroine and it’s a heart-pounding conclusion. I gasped, I cried, I shouted out loud (hey, that happens a lot). I was not let down by how jam-packed it was!

Oh and how could I forget this — I was totally engrossed in the development of everyone’s powers. It was really interesting to get to know more about how Lissa can use the spirit power and weird connections and forces it allows her to use. I really like the magical side of the story a lot and it’s so refreshing that it’s not “just another vampire story”. It’s very unique as far as anything I’ve ever read and surprisingly getting me hooked!

addiction_factor1

5/5 stars
Yep, 5 stars! I raced through most of the book. Couldn’t put it down and needed to know what was going to happen!

book_recommendations1BOOKS LIKE FROSTBITE