Archives

Into the Still Blue (Under the Never Sky #3) – Veronica Rossi

Into the Still Blue (Under the Never Sky #3) – Veronica RossiTitle: Into the Still Blue (Under the Never Sky #3) by Veronica Rossi
Publishing Info: January 28, 2014 by HarperCollins
Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // GoodreadsDate Completed: December 15, 2013
Related Posts: Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky #1), Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky #2), Roar and Liv (Under the Never Sky #0.5), Brooke (Under the Never Sky #2.5)

Their love and their leadership have been tested. Now it's time for Perry and Aria to unite the Dwellers and the Outsiders in one last desperate attempt to bring balance to their world.
    The race to the Still Blue has reached a stalemate. Aria and Perry are determined to find this last safe-haven from the Aether storms before Sable and Hess do-and they are just as determined to stay together.
   Meanwhile, time is running out to rescue Cinder, who was abducted by Hess and Sable for his unique abilities. And when Roar returns to camp, he is so furious with Perry that he won't even look at him, and Perry begins to feel like they have already lost.
   Out of options, Perry and Aria assemble a team to mount an impossible rescue mission-because Cinder isn't just the key to unlocking the Still Blue and their only hope for survival, he's also their friend. And in a dying world, the bonds between people are what matter most.
   In this final book in her stunning Under the Never Sky trilogy, Veronica Rossi raises the stakes to their absolute limit and brings her epic love story to an unforgettable close

bookreview1

INTO THE STILL BLUE was the perfect finale to the Under the Never Sky trilogy. If you haven’t started this series yet, after having finished all three books (and two novellas!), I can tell you to GO BUY THEM. I feel like it’s been a long time since I’ve had such a positive outcome on a series as a whole and the last book in a series so to say that I fell in love all over again with INTO THE STILL BLUE is really saying a lot for me!

Untitled

Veronica Rossi’s writing grows leaps and bounds throughout the series. UNDER THE NEVER SKY was absolutely gorgeous but the plot arcs, character development, and overall beauty of her writing amazes me with each sentence of hers that I read. Her words make me feel emotional, ethereal, and makes me say things like “my heart is floating” because that’s honestly what I felt like. I stopped several times just to admire the way she strings words and phrases together, not to mention the amazing relationships and friendships that she creates between the characters. Speaking of which…

It will be hard to say goodbye to Aria, Perry, Roar (<3) and the rest of the characters I’ve grown to know and love in this series, but I’m also 100% satisfied where everyone was left at the end of the book. I remember feeling relatively lukewarm about Perry and Aria’s relationship in UNDER THE NEVER SKY because I just hadn’t fallen into their rhythm yet. I had always liked the two of them as characters (well, Aria had to grow on me JUST a bit) but their relationship really started to mesh for me in THROUGH THE EVER NIGHT and I absolutely melted in INTO THE STILL BLUE. Everything about their relationship, their love, their struggles just felt so real and I really made a significant connection with both of them.
We all know that I love Roar so of course I loved seeing more of him in INTO THE STILL BLUE again. We see a much different side of him and I won’t go into detail since that would be a major spoiler for THROUGH THE EVER NIGHT, but it’s quite interesting to see his interactions with his friends and tribe based on the events that happened in that book. And can I just say… *stands up and applauds Veronica Rossi* THANK YOU SO MUCH for NOT making an Aria-Perry-Roar love triangle!!!! I LOVED the friendship between Aria and Roar. They have a real connection with both of them being Auds and they really form a bond over that in addition to their already easy friendship. Roar wasn’t quite brotherly but he also was not a romantic interest and I am so happy for it because while I wouldn’t say a love triangle would have ruined the series, it would have definitely not been the same. I appreciated that friendship so much and it’s absolutely one of my favorite parts of these books.

INTO THE STILL BLUE really kept me hooked the whole time. Things were always happening, the action was always moving forward, and there were some really neat plot developments that surprised and impressed me! I actually didn’t even brush up on the series before I picked this one up but the fact that I read THROUGH THE EVER NIGHT about a year ago (almost exactly a year ago, actually!) really didn’t make it difficult. It was easy to pick up where book two left off and of course I didn’t remember ALL of the details, but Veronica Rossi does a great job at helping the reader pick up the little things that may have gotten lost over the year gap between books.

I was actually really worried about the ending! Nervous, excited, panicked… It was so excited and yet so scary and all of my emotions were right on the surface! I was reading with little glistening tears in my eyes, afraid for what was going to happen to the characters in this series finale! With it being the last book, you just never know what might happen so I was nervous but the book wrapped up perfectly and I couldn’t imagine it ending any other way.

character_breakdown1

Aria // Character Obsessions: Finding the Still Blue, helping Perry, regaining strength, strengthening her friendships.
This was definitely the most I’ve liked Aria. Admittedly in book one, I had a little trouble with her from time to time but she really grew SO MUCH throughout the series and by the end, I wanted her to by my best friend. She was a bit immature and very sheltered when she lived in Reverie and she grew into a beautiful young woman who was strong, proud, loyal, and determined. I think it made it even better that I didn’t get along with her 100% in UtNS because that really allowed me to see how much she grew.
Perry // Character Obsessions: Protecting his tribe and friends, comforting Roar, getting everyone to the Still Blue.
PERRY. I know everyone loved Perry and really, I liked him, but I didn’t swoon like most. INTO THE STILL BLUE had me swooning. There were a few lines that just floored me and I just loved seeing the maturation of his relationship with Aria. He also really stepped into his role as Blood Lord and totally owned it, maturing in that position as well. I think it was the hardest to say goodbye to Perry’s character once this book was over because I really started to fall in love with him and how his character developed.
addiction_factor1

Kept Me Hooked On: This beautiful dystopian/post-apocalyptic/fantasy mix. It’s hard to say exactly how I would classify this series in terms of genre but I always felt it was a bit of a mix between dystopian, post-apocalyptic, and it carried a big fantasy feel for me as well. I loved how everything sort of blended so well that I couldn’t even pin a genre on it. It had such a unique feel and I really loved every minute of INTO THE STILL BLUE.
Left Me Wanting More: Aria and Perry. I finally got HOOKED into their relationship. After liking it, then loving it, then totally falling in love with it, I just wanted to read so much more of it!

Addiction Rating
BUY IT! Read this series!!!

I feel like there have been a few series lately that I have been really disappointed with the last book. INTO THE STILL BLUE is NOT that series. This was the perfect ending to a trilogy that just got better with each book. The plot, the characters, the writing, the FEELS. Everything grew and got better from one book to the next. I don’t know of Veronica Rossi’s future plans, but anything she writes will now be on my auto-read list and I feel absolutely confident now that the series is over to recommend it to people and tell them that they won’t be disappointed!

book_recommendations1

BOOKS LIKE INTO THE STILL BLUE

(Click the cover to see my review!)

          Siege and Storm           Tandem

Brooke (Under the Never Sky #2.5) – Veronica Rossi

Brooke (Under the Never Sky #2.5) – Veronica RossiTitle: Brooke (Under the Never Sky #2.5) by Veronica Rossi
Publishing Info: November 26, 2013 by HarperCollins
Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // GoodreadsDate Completed: December 17, 2013
Related Posts: Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky #1), Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky #2), Roar and Liv (Under the Never Sky #0.5), Into the Still Blue (Under the Never Sky #3)

    Set just before the events of Into the Still Blue, the conclusion to Veronica Rossi's Under the Never Sky trilogy, this breathtaking novella is a satisfying stand-alone for new readers as well as an exciting glimpse at favorite characters from the trilogy. Pulsing with romance and danger, Brooke will leave readers desperate for the conclusion to this epic and unforgettable saga.
    The only fight she can't win is the one for Perry's heart. Following the stunning climax in Through the Ever Night, the Tides have been forced to seek shelter from the Aether storms in a dismal, secluded cave. But Brooke's memories of the cave go back much further, to when she and Perry used to come here together. That was before Perry fell in love with Aria and before Vale's dealings with the Dwellers altered the course of the Tides forever.
    Now, with her sister back from a haunting year in captivity and Aria lying unconscious in the sick bay, Brooke struggles to put the pieces of her life back together. Without Perry, who is she? And what is her role in this frightening new world? As these questions swirl about her, an old threat to the Tides resurfaces, and Brooke is forced to put the lives of her people before her own. But in taking this step outside of herself, Brooke may finally discover what she truly wants.

bookreview1

I feel like a lot of people were really disappointed that this novella was from Brooke’s POV simply because Brooke was a sort of antagonist for Aria and Perry’s relationship. Because of her history with Perry, she adopted a somewhat sour disposition and she wasn’t very amiable towards Aria and struggled to be around Perry. I was actually really looking forward to reading Brooke’s POV.

I feel like I’ve been been in Brooke’s position before, albeit in a less intense way. It’s not easy to be in a situation like that — post-break-up AND a new person creeping in on your territory… Thrown in conflict with a sister who’s essentially been kidnapped and a threat to your home and it’s easy to feel exactly like Brooke does. She’s a very strong person but she’s had so much thrown at her that it’s hard to keep it all together. I actually really liked reading from her perspective because we got to see a different side of her and hear things from inside her stream of consciousness. Brooke is a hard creature to tame so she’s less likely to filter her thoughts and her actions. It was interesting to see compared to Aria and Perry who make very calculated decisions.

Reading Brooke’s story also showed her growth throughout the series as well. It’s hard to see how developed her character really is when we only get Aria and Perry’s story in UNDER THE NEVER SKY and THROUGH THE EVER NIGHT and Veronica Rossi is an expert at character development. She’s definitely come a long way since we first met her and even though this is only a novella, she really shows the most progress in this book. We also get some, erm… swoony action here! Since Brooke doesn’t get any more involvement with Perry, we actually get a taste of two new boys in this story and I really loved learning more about both of them!

BROOKE is a novella that takes place between THROUGH THE EVER NIGHT and INTO THE STILL BLUE, but having already read INTO THE STILL BLUE, I’m actually glad I read BROOKE after. You can absolutely read BROOKE before the last book in the series (it does come sequentially before!) but I really liked reading the last book, seeing how everything plays out through the end, and going back to just before INTO THE STILL BLUE starts. Just my personal preference (like I think there are going to be spoilers or something haha. There aren’t, but I’m just weird like that) but I really liked reading the novella after!

character_breakdown1

Brooke // Character Obsessions: Protecting Clara, finding the Still Blue, getting over Perry.
Brooke really grew a lot in this novella alone which was so impressive to do over the span of a short story. I really admired her bravery, determination, and I respected her journey throughout this story. I really appreciated hearing her point of view and I’m once again impressed by Veronica Rossi’s character development!

addiction_factor1

Kept Me Hooked On: Veronica Rossi. How does she do this?!? We had an understanding of Brooke before but I got to know so much more about her and I saw so much of a change in this short story. I was so impressed!
Left Me Wanting More: Brooke. I wish we got to see more of Brooke in the meat of this series! She does play a bigger role in INTO THE STILL BLUE but even still… I really started to love and appreciate her character a lot and this being the last part of the series I read, I really wanted to see more of her!

Addiction Rating
Read it!

I hope that people who aren’t Brooke fans will appreciated this short story from her perspective! I think she really showed a lot of maturity — or at least on her way to growing — in this story and I think it’s a great addition to this series.

book_recommendations1(Click the cover to see my review!)

          Altered         Cinder

Roar and Liv (Under the Never Sky #0.5) – Veronica Rossi

Roar and Liv (Under the Never Sky #0.5) – Veronica RossiTitle: Roar and Liv (Under the Never Sky #0.5) by Veronica Rossi
Publishing Info: October 30, 2012 by HarperCollins
Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // GoodreadsDate Completed: April 18, 2013
Related Posts: Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky #1), Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky #2), Brooke (Under the Never Sky #2.5), Into the Still Blue (Under the Never Sky #3)

Before Perry and Aria, there was Roar and Liv.After a childhood spent wandering the borderlands, Roar finally feels like he has a home with the Tides. His best friend Perry is like a brother to him, and Perry's sister, Liv, is the love of his life. But Perry and Liv's unpredictable older brother, Vale, is the Blood Lord of the Tides, and he has never looked kindly on Roar and Liv's union. Normally, Roar couldn't care less about Vale's opinion. But with food running low and conditions worsening every day, Vale's leadership is more vital—and more brutal—than ever. Desperate to protect his tribe, Vale makes a decision that will shatter the life Roar knew and change the fate of the Tides forever.

bookreview1

Can we please have a full-length novel from Roar’s POV? Yes, ALWAYS MORE ROAR. Roar is definitely my favorite character of this series. I love his humor, his loyalty, and seeing his friendships grow. He is a joy to read about and I’m so glad I FINALLY got around to reading this novella because even though we get more of the story in THROUGH THE EVER NIGHT, we really get to know Roar and Liv as a couple and their backstory in this novella.

Veronica Rossi’s writing is amazing, even in only 76 pages (or how ever long the ebook translates to based on where you purchase it). She paints such vivid pictures to begin with and then adding in the abilities of the Scires, the Auds, etc and we get even MORE vivid pictures. Her characters are amazing, fully stacked with imperfections that make them the amazing people they were before UNDER THE NEVER SKY and who they’ve become at the end of THROUGH THE EVER NIGHT. Everything is so perfectly woven and carefully plotted out but it all seems so effortless and natural.

And of course, I’ll talk some more about Roar. Seriously, Veronia Rossi? Please? Let’s have book three from Roar’s POV!! He’s easily one of my favorite secondary characters EVER (yes, ever) and I’m so glad that at least we have this novella! I really loved getting to know Liv even more and I was so sad when it ended because fans who have finished books one and two know where the story line is headed from there.

If you’re a fan of this series and you’re not quite sold on novellas, this is the novella to start with! Definitely worth it to read this one!

addiction_factor1

BUY IT!

I just love Roar. I don’t often BUY novellas (usually I read the free ones haha) but this one is so worth the money!

book_recommendations1

     Under the Never Sky      Through the Ever Night

Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky #2) – Veronica Rossi

Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky #2) – Veronica RossiTitle: Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky #2) by Veronica Rossi
Publishing Info: January 8, 2013 by HarperCollins
Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // GoodreadsDate Completed: December 29, 2012
Related Posts: Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky #1), Roar and Liv (Under the Never Sky #0.5), Brooke (Under the Never Sky #2.5), Into the Still Blue (Under the Never Sky #3)

    It's been months since Aria last saw Perry. Months since Perry was named Blood Lord of the Tides, and Aria was charged with an impossible mission. Now, finally, they are about to be reunited. But their reunion is far from perfect. The Tides don't take kindly to Aria, a former Dweller. And with the worsening Aether storms threatening the tribe's precarious existence, Aria begins to fear that leaving Perry behind might be the only way to save them both.
    Threatened by false friends and powerful temptations, Aria and Perry wonder, can their love survive through the ever night?

bookreview1

Let me start off by saying that thank GOODNESS I didn’t throw this book under the category of “Second Book Syndrome”, a phenomenon in which I read trilogies (somehow usually dystopians) and I’m just so lost in the second book. Too many times book two features the the hero and heroine after they got separated in book one and they spend all of book two on an epic quest to reunite (sound familiar?). WELL. THROUGH THE EVER NIGHT does have some of those elements but at the same time, it was so entirely different from the typical Book Two.

I’m so happy with the way that the book went. We were already familiar with the characters, with the setting, and with the conflicts at hand. In TtEN, I really got to know the characters even better, specifically Aria. She’s toughened up quite a bit and I really liked the new take-charge attitude that she has.

Of course I LOVE that we got to see more of Roar. I think he’s one of the most dynamic characters in this series and I really enjoyed hearing more about him and his past. I actually like him more than I like Perry! He’s so lively and just plain likable that I’ve found myself connecting with him as a character much more than I ever connected with Perry.

TtEN is full of action and Veronica Rossi does an amazing job of giving her readers a very realistic and visual portrayal of her characters and the struggles they face. There were definitely a couple of great twists (including one very shocking moment that I actually kind of saw coming but somehow was still surprised nonetheless) as well as a lot of questions answered which was really nice! Too many times I feel like more questions are introduced and we just get more of a mystery going on, but TtEN gives us even more history, specifically from Roar and Liv. I haven’t read the Roar and Liv novella yet either and now I’m even more curious to read it.

Another thing I could say is that since we spend so much time in the Tides and the “outside” world, I almost felt like THROUGH THE EVER NIGHT had an overall epic fantasy feel to it more so than a dystopian feel. Now that we’re past most of our time in Reverie, it’s lost a little sci-fi and gained a little more fantasy. The thought didn’t even cross my mind in book one, but if you’re not a dystopian fan, this actually might be a good series to try!

I think the only complaint I have about this book isn’t really much of a complaint at all — Only that I didn’t quite fall in love with it like I had hoped. I actually had a bit of this feeling with UNDER THE NEVER SKY come to think of it… I really enjoyed it quite a bit, but I was just waiting for that tiiiiny bit of something extra to make me fall in love with it.

character_breakdown1

Aria: I loved Aria in this book! I felt like her character has grown so much since Under the Never Sky. She’s not only learned how to survive in the “Outside” but she’s now thriving, developing her ability as an Aud. In UtNS, Aria was very naive immediately after leaving Reverie so it was such a pleasure to see her grow so much. She matured quite a lot!
Perry: Perry was kind of the same for me. We learned a bit more about him and his relationship with his family, but I didn’t feel like I got a whole lot more from him in this book. I would say one of the things I did like seeing from him was how he fell into the role of Blood Lord and finally gained loyalty from his tribe.
Roar: Roar!!!! I love Roar. He’s definitely my favorite character of this series and the one I’ve felt that really jumps off the page and seems like a genuinely real person. He’s funny, loud, loyal, friendly, honest – Definitely a character I’ve been on board with since the beginning. I love that in TtEN we get even more of Roar’s history and he becomes much more of a main character of the story than just Perry’s sidekick.

addiction_factor1

BUY IT!

I loved THROUGH THE EVER NIGHT. I really enjoyed UtNS but this one really stepped it up a notch! I was just wholly invested and thrilled.

book_recommendations1BOOKS LIKE THROUGH THE EVER NIGHT

           

Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky #1) – Veronica Rossi

Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky #1) – Veronica RossiTitle: Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky #1) by Veronica Rossi
Publishing Info: January 3, 2012 by HarperCollins
Source: Library
Genres: Dystopian, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // GoodreadsDate Completed: July 10, 2012
Related Posts: Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky #2), Roar and Liv (Under the Never Sky #0.5), Brooke (Under the Never Sky #2.5), Into the Still Blue (Under the Never Sky #3)

     Since she'd been on the outside, she'd survived an Aether storm, she'd had a knife held to her throat, and she'd seen men murdered. This was worse.
     Exiled from her home, the enclosed city of Reverie, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland - known as The Death Shop - are slim. If the cannibals don't get her, the violent, electrified energy storms will. She's been taught that the very air she breathes can kill her. Then Aria meets an Outsider named Perry. He's wild - a savage - and her only hope of staying alive.
     A hunter for his tribe in a merciless landscape, Perry views Aria as sheltered and fragile - everything he would expect from a Dweller. But he needs Aria's help too; she alone holds the key to his redemption. Opposites in nearly every way, Aria and Perry must accept each other to survive. Their unlikely alliance forges a bond that will determine the fate of all who live under the never sky.

Breaking It Down Further: Aria has spent all of her life in Reverie. Her home has surpassed the generations before from refining genetics to fractioning in Realms — Extremely realistic virtual worlds where Aria has every scenario at her fingertips. In the Realms, their slogan is that it’s “Better than real” because everything is free from risk, injury and pain. But after a startling incident, Aria is blamed for the deaths of a few of her friends and is exiled from her home, out into the wilderness – Where the Outsiders and the Savages dwell and the Aether storms rage. When Perry gets mixed up with Aria, he suddenly can’t seem to tear himself away. Used to his family, his natural heightened scenes, and knack for survival, Aria is everything he is not. Soon, they find themselves both relying on each other for survival.

bookreview1

Yes! Wow. Okay. So my reaction first: In the beginning I was like, la la la la, this is a nice story, I’m interested. I was very interested in this new high-tech and extremely advanced yet sheltered world that Rossi had created. Right away I noticed that she had a really unique and very colorful way of describing things, but delicately enough that I didn’t get overwhelmed with “over descriptions” as I often do when learning about a new world. Everything seemed very effortless and natural.

I really enjoyed Aria and Perry as our main characters (the book alternates between each person’s point-of-view although the whole book is told in the third person). It was more noticeable to see the growth in Aria’s character. As intended, by the end of the book, she’s blossomed into a completely different character, full of strength and talents that she never knew she possessed. Perry also showed a lot of growth, but his was more of an emotional growth than a personal improvement like Aria’s. We see Perry figure out how to love through his experiences with Aria, we see his patience grow and he opens up a lot.

I really loved watching the relationship between Aria and Perry grow! It was definitely not insta-love. It took time and each of them slowly tested the waters before they both felt comfortable enough to dive into the relationship and really express how they felt towards each other. By the end, I was totally wrapped up in it and I felt the heartbreak when they felt the heartbreak. Rossi did an excellent job of creating this romance!

I think one thing that may be understated here is the supporting characters. I absolutely loved Roar. I would love to see more of him in future books! He says the things that Perry cannot say around Aria. He’s more outgoing and brings a nice tone of humor while Perry’s character is more serious. I also really liked Cinder. He plays a really key role in the book even though he seems like a small character. Deep down you see how he really just wants to do good and ultimately finds a way to do so in the end.

As I progressed through the book, I just got more and more into it. I’d say once the romance really started blossoming, I started really falling for the book. Before then I was enjoying it a lot, but that was what sealed the deal for me. Then finally in the end where we get a lot of action, some major twists, and even more relationship development, I was sold. I loved it!

addiction_factor1

5/5 STARS
I started at a 4, climbed to a 4.5, then at the end I was like, “How could I not give this a 5!?”

book_recommendations1BOOKS LIKE UNDER THE NEVER SKY


Siege and Storm