Archives

Behind the Scenes (Daylight Falls #1) – Dahlia Adler

Behind the Scenes (Daylight Falls #1) – Dahlia AdlerTitle: Behind the Scenes (Daylight Falls #1) by Dahlia Adler
Publishing Info: June 24, 2014 by Spencer Hill Press
Source: Won
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // GoodreadsDate Completed: January 10, 2015

    High school senior Ally Duncan's best friend may be the Vanessa Park - star of TV's hottest new teen drama - but Ally's not interested in following in her BFF's Hollywood footsteps. In fact, the only thing Ally’s ever really wanted is to go to Columbia and study abroad in Paris. But when her father's mounting medical bills threaten to stop her dream in its tracks, Ally nabs a position as Van's on-set assistant to get the cash she needs.
Spending the extra time with Van turns out to be fun, and getting to know her sexy co-star Liam is an added bonus. But when the actors’ publicist arranges for Van and Liam to “date” for the tabloids just after he and Ally share their first kiss, Ally will have to decide exactly what role she's capable of playing in their world of make believe. If she can't play by Hollywood's rules, she may lose her best friend, her dream future, and her first shot at love.

bookreview1

Shame on me for taking so long to read this book! I’ve been talking to the lovely Dahlia Adler for a while but only really got to know her after BEHIND THE SCENES had already come out so somehow this book fell to the wayside (aka: got stuck under my massive TBR pile) for way too long! I’m glad that I finally got to read her debut earlier this year because it was such lovely book and I pretty much inhaled it in two days!

The best thing to come out of BEHIND THE SCENES for me was the wonderful friendship between Ally and Vanessa. I absolutely loved how the two girls were there for each other through thick and thin but also that their friendship is imperfect — which made it even more realistic to me. While I’m definitely not in the same situation (my best friends aren’t the stars of their own TV shows, ya know?), my friends and I each have our differences which really make our friendships unique, and that was something that I really connected with in Ally and Vanessa’s friendship. They connect on so many things and they really love and support each other but they also end up butting heads on some hot button issues because even though they’re best friends, they’re bound to disagree on some important things. It just felt very realistic to me and opened up that line of connection for me to really feel like I knew these characters.

This also really spanned to the family aspect of the book as well. Ally is really tight with her family — especially with her father being sick — so that really sets up a situation where Ally needs to be there for her family, both emotionally and physically. Through Vanessa’s close friendship with Ally, she ends up sort of being part of the family too, which I loved seeing since that’s something I’ve had with a few of my best friend’s families. Vanessa is also there for Ally as she tries to support her family (and herself) throughout this hard time in her life. There’s a giant crossroads with Ally and her decision about college. She doesn’t want to leave her family but she’s always had her dream school in mind so it’s really a constant rotation of support between Ally, her family, and her best friends for everyone to really figure out the best possible situation. I really admired how well all of these relationships work and really how positive everyone seemed to be throughout it all!

What was also really fun about BEHIND THE SCENES was actually the “behind the scenes” look at Hollywood and the acting business. Obviously it’s not something that I know anything about so it’s really fun to get a glimpse at that lifestyle and also see the normality of it all. It’s easy to get caught up in the fame of celebrities but I really loved that the “human side” of each of the TV stars (minus the divas) was portrayed. These actors really are just normal people who have a job that makes them famous. It was just a really fun peek at that side of the business.

And of course, the romance was delightfully swoony. I really loved how it developed and it was really interesting to see each character’s approach and how so many people were actually involved. I loved Ally’s resistance, actually. She tried to think the worst of Liam because in her mind, he really was just a celebrity with a built-up reputation so it was especially exciting to get to know him more as Ally did! I really loved him.

All in all, BEHIND THE SCENES was another hit for me! I’ll admit that I had a few preconceived notions about a book portraying show business but that was something the characters and I learned — things are not always what they seem! It was so great to get to know these characters and I can’t wait to get to know even more in the companion novel, UNDER THE LIGHTS, this year!

view_from_goodreads1

“The View from Goodreads” is a featured section in my reviews that I decided to incorporate! I tend to update my Goodreads status a LOT when I read — reactions, feelings, notes — so I thought it would be fun to share the sort of “reading process”! All status updates are spoiler-free (no specific plot points will be revealed) but will contain reactions to certain pages and/or characters!

Screen Shot 2015-02-02 at 12.13.48 PM

character_breakdown1

Ally // Character Obsessions: College, family, friendship.
I liked Ally a lot! I feel like we had a lot in common and even when we weren’t directly in sync, she reminded me a lot of some of my friends. It was a really nice combination! She was a really admirable character. Ally always wanted to stand by her family and I loved how much school and her family and her friends meant to her. I mean, she really did have a LOT going on in her life, but I really appreciated what she chose to be important in her life.
Vanessa // Character Obsessions: Acting, friendship, responsibility, normality.
I loved the friendship between Ally and Vanessa. As I was reading, it actually reminded me of Open Road Summer (Reagan & Dee). Vanessa makes a really big break in this book but I love that she never turns into a diva or lets fame or success go to her head. I can’t stand diva-types so that made me REALLY happy to see. I loved that she remained so down-to-earth and a good friend to Ally!

addiction_factor1

Kept Me Hooked On: Celebrity Status. I’ve read a few too many with many diva-like attitudes and I can’t handle that. Brattiness — even from the antagonist — is just not appealing. (There was a touch of this from someone else but that actually didn’t bother me.) I was really excited to see a strong and realistic friendship between Ally and Vanessa, regardless of social status/fame.
Left Me Wanting More: Connection. It was just a “me” thing but I didn’t TOTALLY 100% connect with everything going on. And that has totally nothing to do with the book. I really enjoyed everything but there was just that “factor” that kept me from falling totally in love and who’s to say what it is. Just happens some time and that’s totally okay! You can’t fall head over heels with every book but this was still one I really enjoyed and would recommend!

Addiction Rating
Read it!

I really enjoyed this book! I loved the sort of (oops totally no pun intended) “behind the scenes” look at Hollywood and the acting business. It’s always so much fun to see that kind of stuff since obviously I don’t have access to that kind of knowledge. I LOVED the friendships and whewwww a swoony romance to boot!

book_recommendations1

BOOKS LIKE BEHIND THE SCENES

(Click the cover to see my review!)

        OPEN ROAD SUMMER       THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US

Enclave (Razorland #1) – Ann Aguirre

Enclave (Razorland #1) – Ann AguirreTitle: Enclave (Razorland #1) by Ann Aguirre
Publishing Info: April 12, 2011 by Macmillan
Source: Won
Genres: Apocalyptic, Dystopian, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // GoodreadsDate Completed: October 20, 2013
Related Posts: Mortal Danger (Immortal Game #1)

In Deuce’s world, people earn the right to a name only if they survive their first fifteen years. By that point, each unnamed ‘brat’ has trained into one of three groups–Breeders, Builders, or Hunters, identifiable by the number of scars they bear on their arms. Deuce has wanted to be a Huntress for as long as she can remember.
  As a Huntress, her purpose is clear—to brave the dangerous tunnels outside the enclave and bring back meat to feed the group while evading ferocious monsters known as Freaks. She’s worked toward this goal her whole life, and nothing’s going to stop her, not even a beautiful, brooding Hunter named Fade. When the mysterious boy becomes her partner, Deuce’s troubles are just beginning.
  Down below, deviation from the rules is punished swiftly and harshly, and Fade doesn’t like following orders. At first Deuce thinks he’s crazy, but as death stalks their sanctuary, and it becomes clear the elders don’t always know best, Deuce wonders if Fade might be telling the truth. Her partner confuses her; she’s never known a boy like him before, as prone to touching her gently as using his knives with feral grace.
  As Deuce’s perception shifts, so does the balance in the constant battle for survival. The mindless Freaks, once considered a threat only due to their sheer numbers, show signs of cunning and strategy… but the elders refuse to heed any warnings. Despite imminent disaster, the enclave puts their faith in strictures and sacrifice instead. No matter how she tries, Deuce cannot stem the dark tide that carries her far from the only world she’s ever known

bookreview1

I had been meaning to read ENCLAVE for a loooong time. I won the ebook a while back but I am TERRIBLE at staying on top of my ebooks because I don’t see them sitting on my shelf everyday (shame, shame. I know) but I wanted to read it before I met Ann Aguirre at the Fierce Reads Tour on November 4th. Perfect timing!

We first meet Deuce as Girl15, ready to receive her name at her naming ceremony and become an official part of the Hunters and Huntresses who provide food for the enclave and also protect it. While I must admit that Deuce is my least favorite character name of all time, I really did like her character! She was ready to take on the world, learn new skills, and protect her friends and the people who had become like her family. Another awesome kickass female protagonist done well!

I don’t know why, but one of my favorite parts about any dystopian or post-apocalyptic novel is learning how the world and/or government collapsed and what grew up in its absence. What was difficult for me in ENCLAVE was that we didn’t get to see “Topside” until halfway through the book so it was just a little bit slow for me in the first half. I really got into the book once we got to see the world that once was: figuring out how it collapsed, trying to survive the elements as well as the Freaks and the gangs, and also trying to find a safe place in a world that was totally foreign. I love re-discovering the world that we know now from the characters’ perspective!

I really enjoyed the dynamic between Deuce and Fade and how their characters ended up not only growing closer, but really depending on each other to survive. I really liked Fade a lot (he sort of reminded me of Four from the Divergent series at times!) and his secret past absolutely intrigued me! We got a little taste of what his life was like growing up and how that knowledge would be valuable to Deuce as well. As far as the romance goes… I liked it at first, but I felt like it escalated a little quickly considering the main focus of the Hunters is, well, hunting and they grew up mostly not touching others affectionately, even just as a sign of friendship. That sort of thing was left to the Breeders. I didn’t feel like it was insta-love or anything, but I felt like it happened quickly considering their history.

I actually really liked the supporting characters, especially the ones that Deuce and Fade encounter later in the story. Stalker was actually probably one of my favorite in the sense that he felt really dynamic and I liked what Ann Aguirre did with his character! I think all of the characters really brought the story to life and it was interesting to see them thrown into such a hostile environment and how they handled it.

The ending was really exciting and although ENCLAVE started a bit slow for me, it finished strong and it got me excited for the next book in the series! I’m definitely interested to see where the story goes from here.

character_breakdown1

Deuce // Character Obsessions: Being a Huntress, surviving, battling Freaks.
I liked Deuce! Did not like her name, but hey. It wasn’t her choice either, right? I think at times she was a bit too stubborn but I think she just had a real need to prove herself which she actually did many, many times over. I liked her determination and she really kept the story moving. I also really appreciated that she was badass tough chick and then we got to see a much softer side of her as the story went on. Very nicely done!
Fade // Character Obsessions: Being a Hunter, surviving, battling Freaks, holding his tongue.
Fade is definitely a complex fellow. He was found and brought to the Enclave so he has a whole childhood that his community doesn’t even know about. I was definitely drawn to him because of the mystery and his strength!

 addiction_factor1

Kept Me Hooked On: Post-Apocalyptic novels. I love destroying the world. I love reading about how authors crumble our modern world and create a new one in its place! Fascinating!!
Left Me Wanting More: Topside in the beginning. I’m obsessed with finding out how the world ended and what it’s like now (well, “now” in the book) so I felt like it took just a little too long for that to happen in ENCLAVE, for my personal tastes.

Addiction Rating
Borrow it!

Borrow it from a friend who’s loved it and wants to share it with you! It’s a good read but not one of my all-time favorites. The series looks like it has some really good potential so start with book one and hopefully things will get even better as we go!

book_recommendations1BOOKS LIKE ENCLAVE

(Click the cover to see my review!)

          Divergent     Monument 14

Defiance (Defiance #1) – C.J. Redwine

Defiance (Defiance #1) – C.J. RedwineTitle: Defiance (Defiance #1) by C.J. Redwine
Publishing Info: August 28, 2012 by HarperCollins
Source: Won
Genres: Dystopian, Fantasy, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // GoodreadsDate Completed: September 1, 2013

While the other girls in the walled city-state of Baalboden learn to sew and dance, Rachel Adams learns to track and hunt. While they bend like reeds to the will of their male Protectors, she uses hers for sparring practice.
    When Rachel's father fails to return from a courier mission and is declared dead, the city's brutal Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector: her father's apprentice, Logan—the boy she declared her love to and who turned her down two years before. Left with nothing but fierce belief in her father's survival, Rachel decides to escape and find him herself.
    As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by a monster that can't be killed and an army of assassins out for blood, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that will incite a war decades in the making.

bookreview1

Oh, blogger friends…

I Trusted You
I trusted you on this one! Your ratings are all four and five stars! (Except one.) I bought the second book! *shakes head* Why did I do that? I should know better than to buy a sequel (and have it personalized) before I finish the first book.

DEFIANCE. I’ve heard so many good things and I’ve been wanting to start this one for a long time, so I finally did before I went to the CJ Redwine & Rae Carson event at Anderson’s. I hadn’t been able to read that much before the actual event, but it was interesting to hear both of these ladies talk about their books even though I hadn’t read them yet. I knew lots of my blogger friends really loved this one so I was so excited to meet CJ! She was really nice and the event was a lot of fun, as a whole!

But then I started getting further into the book. I was hoping that my initial qualms with Rachel would resolve themselves as I got deeper into the plot AND the romance, but instead of getting better… They got worse. Rachel is one tough chick. But she’s stubborn. That’s not always a bad thing, but I got a bit of a martyr complex from Rachel, having to do everything herself. Always. Her father is gone so she had no parents to rely on like she used to and things are uneasy with Logan, her new guardian. So naturally, Rachel takes it upon herself to take care of business. That could have been all well and good but for some reason I just got these really bad vibes from the way her character was written. She felt angry. She felt negative. She felt stubborn and immature and defensive. Sure, I’ve seen this in lots of YA characters, but just the way it was written for Rachel did not work for me. She acted without thinking (Logan was the thinker in the book) and I actually got mad at her for a few specific incidences.

I was actually okay with Logan in the beginning, but soon he became too much of a character and didn’t quite feel like a real person to me. He was more logical and techy as a polar opposite to Rachel’s physical strength and quick decisions — I actually really liked that he was more of a “brains guy” than “braun guy”, but then… Things started to go downhill. Everything became SO thought out and overcalculated… I started rolling my eyes at his Best/Worst Case Scenarios. If you guys know me, you KNOW how much I hate hearing things repeated over and over and over again in books and this was one thing that just pushed my buttons.

The romance in DEFIANCE between Rachel and Logan just never came together for me either. I guess it’s kind of hard if I’m really not into either character to get into their romance, but I never felt the chemistry there, even from the beginning when I was still trying to root for them to get together. I actually really liked the forbidden romance kind of aspect and that Rachel and Logan knew each other and had a big history and hadn’t just met for the first time. I guess I was hoping to feel that connection from their past but I just never got that either.

Most of all, I was confusing by the world building. It reads like fantasy and HI, there’s a dragon who lives underground, which AWESOME! Dragons! But wait… I thought this was this is speculative/dystopian? It’s that too! Then were did this random dragon come from? How many years in the future are we? CJ Redwine clearly stated at the author event that Baalboden is in a post-apocalyptic Tennessee and the characters make the journey all the way to former-Louisiana. (Remember that one giant sign aka billboard that referred to “the king”…? Tennessee…? Get the reference?) How did SO MUCH destruction happen over such a vast expanse of land? If the Cursed One was really what destroyed everything, where did it even come from? Why didn’t we bomb the ones that were out there with the technology we had before the Cursed Ones started appearing? How are things still so bad? I just had so many questions and it felt like a mash up of too many genres. I can appreciate genre mash-ups but these just didn’t seem to mix well.

Basically, this one just didn’t work for me on really any level. I tried really hard to make it work and finish with at least a somewhat positive outcome but it came to a point where I skimmed a good portion of the end because the chapters were dragging on. I really, really wanted to like this one but after trying to force it for over 400 pages, there comes a time where you just have to say, “It wasn’t for me.” To top it off, I wasn’t smart about my book buying and I guess I now have a personalized book two that I don’t plan to read. Bummer.

character_breakdown1

Rachel // Character Obsessions: Weapons, saving her father, avoiding Logan.
Sadly, I just didn’t connect with Rachel. I love kickass females, but she was a bit too stubborn and too defensive for me. She was rash to act and didn’t think about a lot of her actions, some which caused major destruction. Since I was struggling with her character, those moments made me like her less instead of feeling sympathy for her.
Logan // Character Obsessions: Gadgets, technology, protecting Rachel, planning.
Logan was much more calculated than Rachel was, but even that started to go overboard for me. He didn’t feel like a nice mix of head and heart… More like SO many thoughts/plans and SO many emotions and he went overboard with both. I liked his techy side and that his gadgets were helpful to his and Rachel’s plans, but it was weird part of the plot because I couldn’t get over how high fantasy it felt, which always reminds me of medieval times, and it just didn’t seem to fit. I know it’s also a speculative fiction novel, but everything just jumbled together for me and Logan’s character didn’t seem to fit the times in my head.
addiction_factor1

Kept Me Hooked On: Dragons. Okay. So it’s called The Cursed One and not actually a dragon. But it’s a dragon. I may or may not have been rooting for it sometimes.


Left Me Wanting More: World Building Answers. I love a book with awesome world building and I just had SO many unanswered questions in DEFIANCE. I know I won’t be able to get ALL of the answers, but I feel like I got so many at the signing but… None of those answers were in the book. The fantasy feel of the book and the knowledge that it was supposed to be speculative fiction/dystopian just didn’t compute in my head. I needed SO much more information to figure out why the world ended up like it did.

Addiction Rating
Try with caution

LOTS of bloggers liked and even LOVED this book. This one just was not for me. Since there are so many positive opinions, I’d say give it a try, but maybe be a little wary of the issues that I had with it. Or check your trusted bloggers and see what they thought! Hopefully you’ll find a review that you trust to guide you!

book_recommendations1BOOKS LIKE DEFIANCE

        Prophecy          Eve

Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #1) – Laini Taylor

Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #1) – Laini TaylorTitle: Daughter of Smoke & Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #1) by Laini Taylor
Publishing Info: September 27, 2011 by Little, Brown
Source: Won
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // GoodreadsDate Completed: July 10, 2013
Related Posts: Days of Blood & Starlight (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #2), Night of Cake and Puppets (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #2.5), Dreams of Gods & Monsters (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #3), Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer #1)

    Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.
    In a dark and dusty shop, a devil's supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.
    And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.
    Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she's prone to disappearing on mysterious "errands"; she speaks many languages--not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she's about to find out.
When one of the strangers--beautiful, haunted Akiva--fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

bookreview1

I’ve been promising to read this book for quite some time now but after our first Twitter chat at Literary Lushes, I realized how important it was that I read this book like… NOW. So I made sure it was one of the next books I picked up and I’m SO glad I finally read it! I was really, really nervous to read this. I really thought I would not like it. Soooo many people loved it and it’s fantasy… And not quite in the same realm of fantasy that I usually read, so I was a bit intimidated! Fortunately, Laini Taylor’s beautiful writing, knack for plot twists, and character development left me with nothing to fear! 

DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE is so not a Brittany book… But that also so didn’t matter. If you know my reading styles well, you know that I don’t do well with “creature fantasy” (is that a real term? That’s what I call it) so I was really concerned when I found out that the chimera were a HUGE part of the story. I think maybe one of the reasons their presence worked so well for me is that the chimera are Karou’s norm — these “creatures” are her family so while she does discover other secrets about their world and connections to it, there’s a certain sense of normalcy amongst the fantasy.

I was also concerned about several people mentioning how Laini Taylor’s writing is lyrical and flowery and that scared me because that’s also what people said about SHATTER ME and (hate me if you want! I don’t care!!) I really didn’t like the writing in SHATTER ME at all. That comparison had me very hesitant, but once again, I had nothing to worry about. Yes, Taylor’s writing is “flowery” but it’s done beautifully so I didn’t feel like I was lost in metaphors and it wasn’t hard to follow along with. Sure, maybe it required a bit more concentration, but really, I kind of liked that I was really forced to pay attention to the book and not allow other distractions to take away from my reading experience.

The story of the chimaera and the angels are fascinating. It was almost difficult at first because I had to stop my brain. Are the angels really the bad ones? We see the story with Karou and her family of chimaera as the “good guys”… So does that make the angels the bad guys? ARE there bad guys or is this just a matter of perspective? I loved that there was almost a sort of role reversal and/or grey area as to who was good and who was bad. I liked being challenged as a reader to not fall into any stereotypes and to listen to what the book was telling me instead of what I found to be true. As we learn in DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE, there’s always another story beneath the surface somewhere… And the truth can be quite surprising!

I’ve gotta say… It’s almost not fair to judge this as one book. The first half/three quarters, I really enjoyed. I was going along like, “Okay, I really like this. Like this… Oh, I really like that!” and then all of a sudden, BAM! Plot twist! Surprises! Mysteries revealed! And like Karou, my whole world was turned upside down. I will say this… Laini Taylor, you sure know how to draw out the suspense! I’m pretty sure I raced through the second half of that book because I was like, “Gimme gimme gimme info!” and I couldn’t read fast enough to resolve that surprise twist. I had my suspicions (which turned out to be about half accurate) and the whole second half of the book just totally blew my mind.

As far as style & subject matter go, I’ll say this is probably a love it or hate it book. If there hadn’t been so many rave reviews of DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE, I probably wouldn’t have picked it up because I would have thought I’d have hated the subject matter (so thank goodness for all you beautiful reviewers out there)! As far as plot & pacing go, I’d say this could fall anywhere for the general reader. I felt like the beginning was juuuuust a tad slow, but not enough to turn me off. I was just impatiently waiting for the “good stuff” to happen! The ending also kind of dragged, mostly just because we get the reveal and it IS a slight info dump of backstory, but I really enjoyed that info dump haha. It was just hard when I was stuck in the backstory and it took so long to get back to the present-day story because OBVIOUSLY I’m dying to know what happens there! Mostly, I’m just happy that I really enjoyed it so much and now I’m incredibly curious to see what happens in book two!

character_breakdown1

Karou // Character Obsessions: Art, drawing, finding out more about Brimstone. 
Karou is pretty awesome, in my opinion. She’s got this whole other life that her “human” friends don’t know about… Considering she grew with up with chimaera as her family and knows nothing about where she came from. I feel like that could have easily been a way for Karou to whine and pine and beg about information, but she doesn’t. She helps Brimstone like she always has, does what’s asked of her… And then boldly explores on her own when she can, almost always as long as it doesn’t upset her family. She’s bold, brave, badass, and she’s got blue hair, for Pete’s sake. That’s gotta say something, right?
Brimstone // Character Obsessions: Teeth, missons, luck. 
I kind of love Brimstone. Right off the bat, you know he’s the protector and the leader of Karou’s chimaera family, but there’s so much more to him than Karou knows… And the mystery killed me the whole book. Suspicions are thrown around from good to evil the whole book and I feel like I never knew was his true character was until the end and I LOVED how that book ended with what we learn about Brimstone!
Akiva // Character Obsessions: Madrigal, Karou.
Akiva. HE HAS SMOLDERING EYES. A real, true smoldering stare. How do you compete with that!?! Anyway… At first, I was like, “What’s so special about him? I don’t know what everyone’s swooning about…” and then I TOTALLY did. Find out more about Akiva’s back story and it totally makes his character amazing.
Madrigal // Character Obsessions: Making a difference, Akiva, changing the world.
HELLO, Madrigal is so badass. She’s the chimaera who falls for a Seraphim and wants to change the ways of the world. No wonder Akiva falls for her. What a beautiful soul!

addiction_factor1

Kept Me Hooked On: Different kinds of fantasy. Okay. The fantasy I usually enjoy is apparently fantasy that seems ancient or medieval (like A Song of Ice and Fire, Graceling, Prophecy, Grave Mercy (if you consider that one fantasy)), so the fact that this was involving a cast of non-humans as well as all taking place in the present time, I was really surprised that I liked it so much!
Left Me Wanting More: Karou/Akiva romance. There was so much to learn and so much to be revealed that it took me a while to get into the Karou/Akiva romance before the big reveal happens. Although… I’m sure there’s plenty of time for romance in future books and that’s all I’m saying!

Addiction Rating
BUY & RECOMMEND!

Even if you’re a fantasy skeptic, give this one a shot! There’s a reason why so many people have rated it 4 and 5 stars!

book_recommendations1

BOOKS LIKE DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE

     Shadow and Bone      Prophecy

Of Triton (Of Poseidon #2) – Anna Banks

Of Triton (Of Poseidon #2) – Anna BanksTitle: Of Triton (Syrena Trilogy #2) by Anna Banks
Publishing Info: May 28, 2013 by Macmillan
Source: Won
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // GoodreadsDate Completed: May 26, 2013
Related Posts: Degrees of Wrong, Of Poseidon (Syrena Trilogy #1)

    Emma has just learned that her mother is a long-lost Poseidon princess, and now struggles with an identity crisis: As a Half-Breed, she’s a freak in the human world and an abomination in the Syrena realm below. Syrena law states that all Half-Breeds should be put to death.
As if that’s not bad enough, her mother’s reappearance among the Syrena turns the two kingdoms—Poseidon and Triton—against one another. Which leaves Emma with a decision to make: Should she comply with Galen’s request to keep herself safe and just hope for the best? Or should she risk it all and reveal herself—and her Gift—to save a people she’s never known?
Once again, Anna Banks infuses Emma and Galen's points of view with humor, intrigue, and waves of romance.

bookreview1

Anna Banks has done it again! I fell in love with this mermaid — sorry, Syrena — world and the characters in it. OF POSEIDON was such an enjoyable read for me and I admit that I was a bit afraid to jump back in with OF TRITON for fear that it wasn’t going to be as good. Nowadays, I live in fear of sequels and series for fear that the next book just won’t live up to the first. In many ways, I think OF TRITON was actually better with more established characters, more complicated story lines, and a few shocking moments of its own!

I think the thing that really set OF TRITON apart from its predecessor was that now that we have the Syrena world all established, we can really dive into the politics and laws that govern our characters. Now I’m not one for politics, but the way the Syrena laws drove these story lines was fascinating! It seems all of the characters are tangled and caught in the webs of the laws and they all have to find a way to regain power, establish control, duck around the laws, or create new ones.

And of course, the driving force behind THIS, of course, is love. We’ve got a ton of pairs in this book. First, there’s the Galen and Emma story. Their romance is the steamiest of course and there were quite a few moments when Galen got my blood boiling as well as Emma’s (in a good way)! We have the old yet new romance of Grom and Nalia and the new struggle that they must face of how they can possible get back together when Nalia has supposedly been dead all of these years. Then lastly — which involves two of my favorite characters — is Toraf and Rayna. I love Toraf’s humor and sarcasm but at the same time how attentive he is to Rayna. He’s able to show sensitivity yet handle her fiery nature all at once. They’re definitely my favorite of the bunch! Although yes, yes, of course I love Galen and Emma too!

I also loved getting to see more of some of the secondary characters. Toraf and Rayna were prominent in book one but I feel like they had much more of a story line in OF TRITON and their own personal plot that also intermingled with Emma and Galen’s. We get to see so much more of Emma’s mother, hear more about her past, and get to see her in a totally different light. We always knew Emma took after her mother, but now we get to see some of that ferocity from her as well as Emma! And lastly, we spend a lot of time in the water with various other Syrena. I really enjoyed seeing different aspects of Syrena life, their laws, and new characters that surprised me on so many levels!

OF TRITON leaves us with several high points, but also one shocking moment that took my breath away. Anna Banks left us with one whopper in OF POSEIDON but OF TRITON closes with a whole different type of shocker and that was honestly one place I did not think the book would go. In a way, I was upset but in a way, it gave the book a little extra dash of serious and drama. I thoroughly enjoyed it and devoured the book in a single afternoon! Lots of action, adventure, and romance in this one and I think fans of OF POSEIDON will not be disappointed!
character_breakdown1

Emma: Emma is back with all the spunk of book one! She’s got a lot more on her plate with this book (not like finding out you’re half mermaid isn’t a whopper, but still) and with her budding romance with full-blood Syrena Galen, Emma now has to deal with her mother’s shocking history as well as finding a way to keep her boyfriend without his own people keeping them apart. I do have to say that I still lover her spunk and fiery determination above all else! I’m glad that she stayed so true to her character — very strong and determined with just a dash of teenage naiveté.
Galen: Still serious. Still swoony! What more can I say?
Nalia: LOVED finding out so much more about Nalia in this book. After the bomb was dropped in book one, it was so great to get into that history and how everything will changed based on this brand new information!

addiction_factor1

Read it!

I think I enjoyed this book even more than the first. It was a lot of fun, great twists, and love the romances!

book_recommendations1BOOKS LIKE OF TRITON

     Lies Beneath              Sweet Evil

Mind Games (Mind Games #1) – Kiersten White

Mind Games (Mind Games #1) – Kiersten WhiteTitle: Mind Games (Mind Games #1) by Kiersten White
Publishing Info: February 19, 2013 by HarperCollins
Source: Won
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // GoodreadsDate Completed: March 9, 2013

    Fia was born with flawless instincts. Her first impulse, her gut feeling, is always exactly right. Her sister, Annie, is blind to the world around her—except when her mind is gripped by strange visions of the future.
Trapped in a school that uses girls with extraordinary powers as tools for corporate espionage, Annie and Fia are forced to choose over and over between using their abilities in twisted, unthinkable ways... or risking each other’s lives by refusing to obey.
In a stunning departure from her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy, Kiersten White delivers a slick, edgy, heart-stoppingly intense psychological thriller about two sisters determined to protect each other—no matter the cost
.

MGbanner

bookreview1Call me shallow, but looks matter. I mean, I totally judged this book by its cover. I LOVED the cover for this book (all the blues and purples and pinks – gorgeous) so admittedly, the cover drew me in initially and once I started to read more about it, I was super intrigued by the description! I love a good paranormal thriller so MIND GAMES quickly became one of my most anticipated reads for early 2013. Sadly, that was where the excitement ended as well.

MIND GAMES was really hard for me to get into. It’s a very fast-paced book and also somewhat shorter in length (only 237 pages) so it was quick to read and honestly, if it hadn’t been… I’m not sure I would have finished it. I really didn’t like reading from Fia’s point of view (also, did not like “Fia” as a nickname for Sofia, but that’s just my weird names hang-up) although I understood it.
Fia has natural instincts, incredibly so that she’s virtually always able to make the right decision without thinking and just trusting her gut. In order to keep the psychics and the mind readers of the book in the dark, Fia relies almost entirely on her instincts and doesn’t interrupt her thoughts at all, so the reader gets a sort of stream-of-consciousness POV from Fia at all times. While I understand it, it was difficult to read at times because I felt like I was reading the author’s stream of consciousness and not Fia’s. The whole style of her POV felt unfinished to me and it took away from the book instead of adding something special to it.

The book alternates between Fia’s POV and her sister Annie’s. Annie is much easier to read and understand because she kind of only relies on her mind. Even though she’s blind, she has the uncanny and ironic ability to “See”: she has visions of events in the future as if she can see them happening herself. Annie is much more put together and definitely less scarred and traumatized then Fia so I was able to follow her story much better.

Besides the alternating POVs, the story also switches back and forth between present day and the past, which normally I’m fine with, but it was a little too much in MIND GAMES. I had to follow “Monday night, Tuesday morning, Wednesday afternoon” in present day but also jump around from “Ten years ago, five years ago, three years ago” in the past. I just felt like it was all over the place and not terribly hard to follow but just enough that it took me out of the story for a second to put together the pieces of the timeline, adjust, and then jump back in. It felt like an interruption of the book instead of adding additional information.

That all being said, the plot didn’t knock me off my feet either. The concept was great and something really interesting, but going back to what I said earlier, the whole book just felt rushed all the time. I felt like details didn’t get explained, the past didn’t connect to the present well, and the characters never really got developed. I think it may have been worth it to add a few extra pages of explanations and character development to really hook the reader in and I just felt like I was really, really missing that.

Put all those elements together and add Fia’s annoying tics (tapping and repeating everything in threes “tap tap tap”  “hate hate hate”  “go go go” — can you tell I hate repetition in books?) and you have one disappointed reader. I was really sad that this book wasn’t what I thought it would be. All of the things that were different about this book felt like a weight pulling it down instead of letting the book shine and carry the reader through.

And the ending!?! That was really, really, (I’m pulling a Fia here), REALLY disappointing and did not make any sense to me whatsoever. I know MIND GAMES is a series. I don’t think I’ll continue on.

character_breakdown1

Fia: I didn’t hate Fia, but I certainly didn’t like her. I wanted so much more from her! Obviously she hasn’t had it easy, but the fact that the reader is never really allowed into her true and deep thoughts put up a wall and I was never able to connect with her. She could have been a really great character and she just totally fell flat for me. I just wanted a little bit more insight and explanation of some of her decisions and quirks.
Annie: I liked Annie a lot more, but even still, I think there could have been more character development for her… She did seem a lot more real to me than Fia was though.
James: What is up with James? Do we like him? Do we hate him? Do we trust him??? I was just confused all around and I’m hoping the readers get answers in future books because even after finishing MIND GAMES… I’m still not sure.

addiction_factor1Library Read

MIND GAMES was a bit of a struggle for me. It was an interesting concept and I wanted to like the characters but the book really fell flat. Maybe it just wasn’t the book for me!

book_recommendations1BOOKS LIKE MIND GAMES

     How to lead a life of crime      The Darkest Minds

Nobody But Us – Kristin Halbrook

Nobody But Us – Kristin HalbrookTitle: Nobody But Us by Kristin Halbrook
Publishing Info: January 29, 2013 by HarperCollins
Source: Won
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // GoodreadsDate Completed: January 14, 2013

    Will
Maybe I'm too late. Maybe Zoe's dad stole all her fifteen years and taught her to be scared. I'll undo it. Help her learn to be strong again, and brave. Not that I'm any kind of example, but we can learn together.
When the whole world is after you, sometimes it seems like you can't run fast enough.
    Zoe
Maybe it'll take Will years to come to terms with being abandoned. Maybe it'll take forever. I'll stay with him no matter how long it takes to prove that people don't always leave, don't always give up on you.
  

NBUbanner

bookreview1

Okay. So before I review, I knew that there were several people who had been anticipating this book and ended up pretty disappointed. I went into it hoping I wasn’t going to have the same issues … But I did.

NOBODY BUT US is described as a combination between Bonnie & Clyde and IF I STAY by Gayle Forman, and I think those are HUGE shoes to fill. Gayle is one of my all-time favorite authors and very, very few people can compare to her quality, emotional writing. The only connection I really see to Bonnie & Clyde is simply the fact that they’re in love and on the run from the law. As far as the Bonnie & Clyde aspect goes, I was expecting a few more capers and heists which really just boils down to two teenagers making rash and questionable decisions out of fear. As far as the comparision to IF I STAY… I don’t see it at all.

Part of the reason I didn’t really connect with the story is that sometimes when I read YA, it’s so relatable regardless of the fact that we’re reading about teenagers. With NOBODY BUT US, I felt like Zoe was extremely naive, which is totally reasonable considering she’s only fifteen, but it really prevented me from liking her character because sometimes it was just painful and awkward to witness her thought process and decisions. Will has a bit of a hot temper, which didn’t bother me so much as the fact that he was pain-stakingly portrayed to sound “uneducated”. As a grammar stickler, all of the “ain’t”s and the “don’t got”s really started to get under my skin and along with the fact that he was basically calling himself unintelligent, I just had a hard time liking Will. Don’t get me wrong — I’m not saying that the fact that school wasn’t his thing was what turned me off. I just found him almost entirely acting on impulses and using very little logic to get him out of sticky situations. It was just really hard to connect with that thought process since I think I’m a pretty logical person. Each impulsive decision got our two main characters deeper into trouble and although that makes for a more exciting story, it irritated me a little bit.

I really just felt myself racing through the book more to finish it than anything else. I actually didn’t enjoy it that much and felt a little let down. The romance wasn’t even enough to salvage it because I never really felt that spark or connection with the characters. I could tell that Will really cared about Zoe, but more in a protective sense than really deep love and Zoe was fifteen and just seemed like, “I really like this boy so I think I’m in love with him.”

character_breakdown1

Zoe: Zoe was just too immature and naive for me to really connect with her as a character. While it’s perfectly natural for a fifteen-year-old to be that way (I know I certainly was), it really held me back from really liking her and adding depth to her character.
Will: Will was hard for me to get along with too. Where Zoe was logical (as much as she could be at fifteen), he was impulsive and even though he was trying to help, I felt like all of this impulsive decisions just took both of our MCs down more difficult paths instead of making their lives easier.

addiction_factor1

Skip it.

Eh. It wasn’t so great. And with a majority of the community agreeing, I don’t think it’s worth picking up to possible struggle through.

book_recommendations1BOOKS LIKE NOBODY BUT US

           

Everbound (Everneath #2) – Brodi Ashton

Everbound (Everneath #2) – Brodi AshtonTitle: Everbound (Everneath #2) by Brodi Ashton
Publishing Info: January 22, 2013 by HarperCollins
Source: Won
Genres: Fantasy, Mythology, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // GoodreadsDate Completed: February 7, 2013
Related Posts: Everneath (Everneath #1), My Lady Jane

    Nikki Beckett could only watch as her boyfriend, Jack, sacrificed himself to save her, taking her place in the Tunnels of the Everneath for eternity — a debt that should’ve been hers. She’s living a borrowed life, and she doesn’t know what to do with the guilt. And every night Jack appears in her dreams, lost and confused and wasting away.
    Desperate for answers, Nikki turns to Cole, the immortal bad boy who wants to make her his queen — and the one person least likely to help. But his heart has been touched by everything about Nikki, and he agrees to assist her in the only way he can: by taking her to the Everneath himself.
    Nikki and Cole descend into the Everneath, only to discover that their journey will be more difficult than they’d anticipated — and more deadly. But Nikki vows to stop at nothing to save Jack — even if it means making an incredible sacrifice of her own.
    In this enthralling sequel to Everneath, Brodi Ashton tests the bonds of destiny and explores the lengths we’ll go to for the ones we love.

bookreview1

Warning: There are some spoilers if you haven’t read the first book, EVERNEATH so be prepared!

Compared to EVERNEATH, I found EVERBOUND to be leaps and bounds more enjoyable. Was it stellar? The answer that for me is still no, but I really got into the sequel much more than the original. I think part of it was the fact that I actually read the physical copy of this book instead of the audiobook (I was in a constant fight with the narrator of the EVERNEATH. It just wasn’t enjoyable) and I got to hear the voices as I pictured them sounding.

I found EVERBOUND to be a lot more exciting than its predecessor since in book two, we get to learn a lot more about the Everneath in general as well as the abilities and activities of all of the “beings” that reside there, including Everlivings like Cole. I was much more excited than the first book and was really captivated with all of the new ideas and explanations. EVERBOUND was much more action-packed and we really get further into the mythology side of the book.

I’m still so-so on Nikki’s character. For the first half of the book, I couldn’t help but compare her to Bella in New Moon – completely lost, utterly alone, and really depressed after losing her love interest. It was kind of annoying to read and okay, I get that you love him and you’d do anything to get him back, but the way it was written was bothering me and that whole deal just didn’t translate well from words to feelings for me.

NOW I get what people are saying with “OMG that ending!” because seriously — As a person who wasn’t entirely thrilled about the series to begin with, yes. OMG, that ending!!!! If I could rate the ending alone? It would have been five stars, hands down. As a whole? Not quite as spectacular for me, but definitely better than book one!

character_breakdown1

Nikki: I felt like Nikki was kind of all over the place. Depressed, hopeful, lost, determined, feisty, flat… Even after two books, I still can’t figure her out and I’m still not entirely thrilled with her. I liked where she was headed in the end. She made some real progress to break out as a stronger character, but the beginning was a little rough for me!
Jack: Am I the only one who’s not on Team Jack? I don’t dislike him, but I’m just not connecting with him as a character. Maybe because he was absent in this book? Am I just missing the epic connection between Nikki & Jack? I’m not quite sure what it is but… meh.
Cole: I actually started to like Cole a LOT in this book. Not so much as a romantic interest for Nikki, but as an overall character. His personality really came out in EVERBOUND. He had some great snarky lines and you always know he has some trick up his sleeve, really making him one of the most developed characters, in my personal opinion. addiction_factor1

Read it!

I liked this one a lot more than the first book! I don’t seem to be on the same page as everyone else as far as teams go… but I’m okay with that! I actually enjoyed this one.

book_recommendations1BOOKS LIKE EVERBOUND

     Everneath      Sweet Evil

The Madman’s Daughter (The Madman’s Daughter #1) – Megan Shepherd

The Madman’s Daughter (The Madman’s Daughter #1) – Megan ShepherdTitle: The Madman's Daughter (The Madman's Daughter #1) by Megan Shepherd
Publishing Info: January 29, 2013 by HarperCollins
Source: Won
Genres: Historical Fiction, Horror, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // GoodreadsDate Completed: January 10, 2013
Related Posts: Her Dark Curiosity (The Madman's Daughter #2)

    Sixteen-year-old Juliet Moreau has built a life for herself in London—working as a maid, attending church on Sundays, and trying not to think about the scandal that ruined her life. After all, no one ever proved the rumors about her father's gruesome experiments. But when she learns he is alive and continuing his work on a remote tropical island, she is determined to find out if the accusations are true.
Accompanied by her father's handsome young assistant, Montgomery, and an enigmatic castaway, Edward—both of whom she is deeply drawn to—Juliet travels to the island, only to discover the depths of her father's madness: He has experimented on animals so that they resemble, speak, and behave as humans. And worse, one of the creatures has turned violent and is killing the island's inhabitants. Torn between horror and scientific curiosity, Juliet knows she must end her father's dangerous experiments and escape her jungle prison before it's too late. Yet as the island falls into chaos, she discovers the extent of her father's genius—and madness—in her own blood.
Inspired by H. G. Wells's classic The Island of Dr. Moreau, The Madman's Daughter is a dark and breathless Gothic thriller about the secrets we'll do anything to know and the truths we'll go to any lengths to protect.
  

bookreview1

Hrrmmmmm. *looks up The Island of Dr. Moreau* OHHHHH. Okay. So I knew this was a re-telling of The Island of Dr. Moreau BUT I was a silly girl and had no idea what it was about. Well. Same story, but substitute teenage girl as the protagonist.

Okay, now that I know what the story is actually about (since I’m stubborn and also refuse to read summaries before I pick up books), “gothic thriller” was an entirely accurate description in every way. I was definitely thrilled and totally sucked in for the main action sequences and almost the entire novel. Want to hear something stupid? I had no idea this book was about Dr. Moreau turning animals into humans because I DON’T READ SUMMARIES!! Ahhh. But that’s also a good thing because otherwise I might not have picked the book up (although I won it in a giveaway so that’s irrelevant, but you get the point).

NOW. Vivisection? Not entirely convinced of the procedures to make this happen. Tell me more science behind this so I understand. How exactly DO you take a dog and a bear, combine them, and come out with something that resembles a human? What kinds of drugs keeps them in a humanlike form? That’s where I lost a little on the rating system. Maybe it was just a bit too gruesome to describe all that in a YA novel, but I need a bit more convincing of the science behind it because I was still doubting the possibility instead of simply being fascinated.

ALSO. Enough with the love triangle! It was okay at first but then Juliet got annoying and she (Juliet) was practically making it a love square in her own mind. Take it easy, woman! Let the two boys fight over you and then decide which one you want. And don’t jump back and forth between them.

Okay, I know that’s a lot of complaining, but I did enjoy it a lot! I just had to air out my complaints before finally settling on my overall opinion. It was really quite exciting, dark, and thrilling! I’d definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a thriller/horror story of the unusual sort. I was honestly racing through the book, flipping through the pages, biting my nails – it was a breath-taking story that had me so anxious to see how it ended!

BUT. How excited am I that it’s a trilogy? Not very. This would have been a great stand alone. Will I still read the other books in the trilogy? You bet!

character_breakdown1Juliet Moreau: I liked Juliet well enough, but towards the end when she was caught up in her love triangle, I got a but frustrated. She was such a strong character, fighting for herself, standing up against society, and then when it came to boys, she turned all hot and bothered and flustered. I just thought it conflicted a little and it was a little disappointing to see.
Dr. Henri Moreau: Oooh definitely creepy. Hands down has my vote for one of the creepiest villains of 2013 novels – And yes, I feel confident saying that in January.
Montgomery AND Edward: So I kind of feel the same about both of the romantic interests. I kept going back and forth, hot and cold, and couldn’t decide which one I liked better, never really committing to either one (probably because Juliet didn’t either!) until we finally come to the end and Juliet finds herself in a situation which pushes her to decide. Hmm. I just wish I had stronger feelings about either one!  

addiction_factor1

Try it

I wasn’t totally crazy for this one and clearly there were a few things that bothered me a lot… but I also did still enjoy it. It was an interesting retelling (you know… once I know the premise of the original) and I really enjoyed the gothic horror feel!

book_recommendations1BOOKS LIKE THE MADMAN’S DAUGHTER

           

Prophecy (The Dragon King Chronicles #1) – Ellen Oh

Prophecy (The Dragon King Chronicles #1) – Ellen OhTitle: Prophecy (Prophecy #1) by Ellen Oh
Publishing Info: January 2, 2013 by HarperCollins
Source: Won
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Find it on the web: Buy from Amazon // GoodreadsDate Completed: January 1, 2013

    The greatest warrior in all of the Seven Kingdoms... is a girl with yellow eyes.
Kira’s the only female in the king’s army, and the prince’s bodyguard. She’s a demon slayer and an outcast, hated by nearly everyone in her home city of Hansong. And, she’s their only hope...
Murdered kings and discovered traitors point to a demon invasion, sending Kira on the run with the young prince. He may be the savior predicted in the Dragon King Prophecy, but the missing treasure of myth may be the true key. With only the guidance of the cryptic prophecy, Kira must battle demon soldiers, evil shaman, and the Demon Lord himself to find what was once lost and raise a prince into a king.
Intrigue and mystery, ancient lore and action-packed fantasy come together in this heart-stopping first book in a trilogy.

bookreview1

Firstly, I want to say that I probably wouldn’t have picked up this book if I hadn’t won it from the giveaway hosted by Jamie & Epic Reads so a big thank you to them for that!

I was really hesitant to read this book at first, mostly because I find myself not connecting with a lot of foreign settings (most specifically Asian settings for some reason — Maybe because I don’t know a lot about the culture and the language?) so I was so glad that it didn’t seem to be a hinderance with PROPHECY. Okay, well it was for a little bit when there were so many foreign words/jargon that I got overwhelmed for a little while in the beginning and it prevented me from remembering all of the different regions and the names of the characters.

I’ve only recently gotten into high fantasy so I’m glad to say that I really, really enjoyed a lot of the book! It definitely had a GRACELING sort of feel for me, which really makes sense since GRACELING was one of the first high fantasy books I’ve ever really read and enjoyed. I really liked the world building and all of the magical elements that were involved. I really thought Kira made a great heroine and even though she’s an even fiercer warrior than the men she fights alongside, I didn’t feel like her attitude was cocky. She’s very humbled by the fact that her yellow-eyes and ability to sense and kill demons target her as a unnatural creature herself.

I actually really liked that the romance side of the book wasn’t really fully explored. Obviously you can see the spark between Kira and Jaewon but their relationship doesn’t really progress past friendship. It was nice that the romance wasn’t forced into being. I’ve read a few reviews that felt like the relationship between Kira and Jaewon seemed a bit insta-lovey because he seemed immediately taken to her and was willing to follow her anywhere, but it didn’t really come off that way to me. I took a lot of his interactions with Kira to come off in a sly, joking manner and sure – if he was kind of a vagabond anyway, why not team up with an attractive girl with unique abilities and an exciting mission? My personal take is that I wasn’t bothered by it at all! Of course, that’s really up to each individual reader to decide for themselves.

I think the only thing that really kept me from enjoying it even more really was all of the different names/terms/regions that I just couldn’t keep straight. Especially during the big action sequences it all breezed by me so quickly and it really just took a little away from all of the excitement when I was trying to figure out which character was which!

The ending was a bit predictable in some ways, but I was okay with being able to foresee that because that’s really how the book should have ended and no other way! I was very satisfied with how everything unfolded and then all came back together in the end.

character_breakdown1Kira: I was surprisingly attached to Kira. I really liked her a lot and that was something I wasn’t really expecting. She was strong but not too over the top for me and I thought her abilities were interesting and it was nice that there weren’t too many crazy rules about what she could and couldn’t do. I feel like sometimes when magical abilities present themselves in stories, there are way too many different things to keep track of so I really got on board with Kira and her demon slaying powers!
Jaewon: Hmmm how do I feel about Jaewon? I thought he was an interesting character to introduce and it seems like he can become a good potential romance for Kira. For now, he’s become a good friend for her and added a nice little bit of humor to the book.

addiction_factor1

Read it

This one was good! I wasn’t totally bowled over but I’m definitely curious to see how this story turns out!

book_recommendations1BOOKS LIKE PROPHECY